Tuesday, November 12, 2019

Lawfully Innocent Celebration Tour!


About the Book


Book: Lawfully Innocent
Author: Robin Helm
Genre: Historical Romance
Release Date: August 31, 2019

Benjamin Beckett, a handsome young English lord, lacks purpose in his life of privilege. After learning the truth about his heritage, he decides to leave unbearable boredom behind, making drastic changes in his too predictable life. Adventure awaits Benjamin across the ocean, and he embraces the challenges before him. Can a man who’s not yet thirty be strong enough to impact the New World? Will he find a cure for his loneliness and ennui?
My  Thoughts: This is a great read.  It takes us into the life of a  privileged lord who seems to have no leading in his life until he gets news of his aunts death.  Benjamin finds himself headed to America with a new outlook on life.
This is a short but interesting novel that gives the reader a look into the 1800's in southern America.  It touches on the subject of slavery, which the author handled brilliantly.   
I enjoyed this novel and believe others will also enjoy reading this novel as well.

⭐⭐⭐



Click here to get your copy!   

About the Author


Robin Helm’s books reflect her love of music, as well as her fascination with the paranormal and science fiction. Previously published works include The Guardian Trilogy: Guardian, SoulFire, and Legacy; the Yours by Design series: Accidentally Yours, Sincerely Yours, and Forever Yours; Understanding Elizabeth; and More to Love. Ms. Helm also contributed stories to A Very Austen Christmas and A Very Austen Valentine. She plans to publish Maestro, Lawfully Innocent, and A Very Austen Romance: Austen Anthologies, Book 3 in 2019. Her life in (usually) sunny, small town South Carolina is busy, but affords time for writing, reading, teaching and performing music, and playing games on her phone. (Would you believe she’s an elder in a war game? And she’s writing a book about it?)  

More from Robin

I grew up in South Carolina during the 1960’s and 1970’s when the Civil Rights Act of 1964 became law. South Carolina did not comply immediately, so I remember my doctor’s office with two waiting rooms, two water fountains, and two doors, both leading to the same doctor and same examination room. It seemed very strange to me even then. I did not know any African American children, because schools, restaurants, churches, the town pool, the public health center, our neighborhoods – everything – was segregated. When I was in high school, that began to change. At first, only a few African-American students came to my school. I really didn’t notice, because we all worked together. I have since looked back and realized the bravery of those students. They left their newly built high school, which was much nicer than the very old one I attended, and came to a place where they knew almost no one. My junior year, our schools and all public buildings were desegregated. Our town handled it very well. Three high schools combined, but everyone kept doing the things they had done. That year, three sets of cheerleaders combined and three of each sports team came together. It was wonderful! We had cheerleaders all the way down the sidelines, and the captain’s position was shared. The school busses were desegregated as well, and I drove a route. I have no bad memories of that time. There were no fights, no arguments, no violence of any sort. This story is set in the mid 1840’s in South Carolina, and it addresses what sorts of things had to happen before we could get to The Civil Rights act and desegregation.

Blog Stops

Giveaway


To celebrate her tour, Robin is giving away the grand prize of a $50 Amazon gift card!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!


I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am  disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”


Friday, November 8, 2019

A Cross to Kill


  About the Book:   A gripping debut thriller pits a man of God against terrorists--and his own deadly past

John Cross is a small-town pastor, bent on leading his flock to follow God's calling. He's not the sort of man one would expect to have a checkered past.

But the truth is that the man behind the pulpit preaching to his sheep was once a wolf--an assassin for the CIA. When John decided to follow Christ, he put that work behind him, determined to do penance for all the lives he took. He vowed never to kill again.

Now someone wants the peaceful pastor to pay for his sins with his own life. And when a terrorist out for revenge walks into the church, John's secrets are laid bare. Confronted with his past, he must face his demons and discover whether a man can truly change. Can he keep his vow--even when the people he loves are in mortal danger? Will his congregation and the brave woman he's learning to care for be caught in the cross fire? In the end, John's life may be the only sacrifice he has left to offer. . .

Andrew Huff's thrilling debut is not only a riveting story of suspense, it's also a deep exploration of the moral quandaries that face those who choose to follow the Prince of Peace in a violent world.


My Thoughts: This book is an attention-getter.  It has your attention from the very beginning and draws the reader into the storyline.  It is well written and easy to read as the storyline flows along.
  
The characters are easy to relate to and the reader is pulled into the book and is always waiting for the next bit of action.  The reader can see how the characters deal with faith, redemption, and forgiveness.  I enjoyed the plot of this story,  former CIA agent turned pastor.  It shows the love of Christ for us all, and how we can change our ways with the help of Christ.  It also gives the reader a glimpse of what is happening in the Middle East.   This is a must-read story that I truly enjoyed.

Definitely a novel for those that love action and intrigue

⭐⭐⭐⭐



I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am  disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”


Wednesday, November 6, 2019

The Freedom Challenge Celebration Tour!


About the Book


Book: The Freedom Challenge
Author: Dawn Scott Damon
Genre:  Christian Living, Women’s Interest, Personal Growth, Devtional
Release Date: March 22, 2019

Be free from toxic mindsets, destructive patterns of behavior, and lies that keep you bound.  

The truth behind seven little words changed Dawn Scott Damon’s life when she heard a man from a small country church sing “I am who He says I am!” Her life was transformed as she began to believe what God’s Word says about who she is in Christ, and she started her journey out of betrayal, abandonment, and deception. 

She shares compelling truths in a sixty-day interactive Bible study that identifies and confronts eight cords that keep many believers bound. These practical and powerful biblical tools are designed to give you a new mindset, a fresh beginning, and a clear direction for a positive future. 

Take the Freedom Challenge and become an active participant in your own emotional and spiritual transformation. Through a guided, intentional, and interactive daily process of putting God’s Word into practice, the strongholds of destructive and bondage-making behavior in your life can be broken. Choose to take that first step to live free from deceptive self-talk, fear, depression, toxic mindsets, and debilitating lies, among others. 

Thought-provoking questions, journaling space, confessions, and affirmations are included to help guide you toward freedom. 



Click here to get your copy! 

My Thoughts: This a must read for all women.   The author has written a study that helps women overcome the toxic thoughts and doubts we have about ourselves.  The study is broken down I to 60 days which helps the reader reflect and study what the author had to say.  

The author  uses personal circumstances  to help illustrate how we can be free of  these toxic and toxic thoughts and image of ourselves.  Through this study and journaling we learn to make healthy choices for our lives.

A wonderful must read.
🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

About the Author


Dawn Scott Damon is an award-winning author, speaker, singer/songwriter, and “freedom coach.” An ordained minister with the Wesleyan Church, Dawn is the lead pastor of Tribes, a multicultural church in Rockford, MI, ministering to every generation. The founder of FreedomGirl Sisterhood conference and radio broadcast, she blogs at freedomgirlsisterhood.com. Dawn and her husband, Paul, have five children between them and eleven grandchildren. They live in the Rockford area. 
 

More from Dawn

As a little girl, I can remember singing in church with all my heart “Blessed Be the Ties That Bind.” Those ties that bind our hearts to one-another in love and to Jesus himself, are indeed blessed. But what about ties that aren’t blessed? Hi I’m Dawn and I’m super glad you stopped by today! I’m a survivor of childhood sexual abuse. At 19 years old, I became a wife and very soon after, a mother. After years of abuse, I was also a victim of rage and bitterness. The childhood sexual trauma was over, but the abuse aftermath—anger, pain, and depression—continued to destroy me. The cords of unwanted bondage choked joy and life out of me.  Today, I live fierce and free and serve as a freedom-coach to help others do the same. I’ve been on a journey for over 25 years, seeking God’s freedom through his truth and learning how to empower others to do the same. The Freedom Challenge: 60-Days to Untie the Cords that Bind You, is the map God gave me to find my way out of bondage, and now I’m sharing it with you! I pray you will also experience God’s glorious deliverance. And now some fun facts about me: I have a wonderful husband named Paul. Together we pastor a church called Tribes—but here’s the deal, he’s the “Pastor’s Spouse,” not me. I am a grandma of 11! It’s the awesomest—a word I use to describe it! I especially like what my grandson Colton calls me…Jam’ma. I love animals—all kinds—and I’ve determined there are absolutely no germs in dog kisses. I also have to admit, I adore anything that glitters or sparkles and someday hope to have a bling store. Lastly, I love Jesus and I still sing my heart out in church!

Blog Stops

Genesis 5020, November 6
Godly Book Reviews, November 7
CarpeDiem, November 8
Moments, November 9
For Him and My Family, November 10
Older & Smarter?, November 11
Empowermoms, November 12
Texas Book-aholic,  November 14
Mary Hake,  November 14
janicesbookreviews, November 15
A Reader’s Brain, November 16
Inklings and notions, November 17

Giveaway


To celebrate her tour, Dawn is giving away the grand prize of a $50 Amazon gift card!!
Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! 

I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am  disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Sunday, November 3, 2019

Practically Married Celebration Tour!



 About the Book


Book: Practically Married
Author: Karin Beery
Genre: General Market, clean fiction, women’s fiction, contemporary romance
Release Date: October 22, 2019

She moved to a new town to marry her fiancé. Instead, she’s burying him.

Ashley Johnson moved to northern Michigan to finally meet her fiancé face-to-face, but she arrived in time to attend his funeral. With no home back in Ohio, she decides to stay in what would have been their house, except his cousin Russ lives there too, and Russ has never heard of Ashley. To complicate matters, her fiancé accidentally willed her the family farmhouse. Eager to please everyone and desperate to disappoint no one, she proposes a marriage of convenience that could solve her and Russ’ problems, if they can get past her aunt, his sisters, and an ex-girlfriend.
My  Thoughts: This is a charming romance that the readers will not want to put down.  This is the story of a young woman in search of a dream.  She would love to have a family, but at what cost? Will she decide on practicality or will she follow her heart?

I enjoyed this novel, with characters that were down to earth and easy to relate to.  I love the concept of the novel.

This is a romance novel that comes highly recommended. 
\⭐⭐⭐⭐



Click here to get your copy. 

About the Author


Karin Beery grew up in a rural Michigan town where she wrote her first novel in high school. Today, she writes contemporary stories with a healthy dose of romance. When she’s not writing fiction, she’s reading, editing, or teaching it. In her free time, she enjoys being at home with her husband and fur babies watching University of Michigan football and action-adventure movies.  

More from Karin

Why would two contemporary American’s agree to a marriage of convenience? That’s what I asked myself when I sat down to write Practically Married. I love reading historical books about mail order brides and other arranged marriages, but I wanted to see if I could make that historical theme more modern (and still be believable). That’s how Ashley and Russ came to be, and—after several revisions—I think I did it! It takes two to get married, but this is really Ashley’s story—it’s her past that inspires her future, and it’s up to her to decide where that inspiration with lead her. The story couldn’t just be about their relationship, though. I’ve always thought it would be fun to have a big brother, so I gave Russ little sisters. And nieces and nephews. And a pie-baking mom who doesn’t like his beard (which may have been inspired my mother-in-law, who tried desperately to get my husband to shave his beard before our wedding). I also threw in some real buildings and places in northern Michigan (even though Boyne Falls is fictional). And it’s possible that some of my character names came directly from friends and other local inspirations. Practically Married isn’t only set in northern Michigan, it’s inspired by it.

Blog Stops

Among the Reads, October 22
Blogging With Carol, October 22
Texas Book-aholic, October 24
CarpeDiem, October 24
Maureen’s Musings, October 24
Emily Yager, October 25
Rebecca Tews, October 25
Older & Smarter?, October 26
janicesbookreviews, October 27
Quiet Quilter, October 27
Cultivating Us, October 28
SusanLovesBooks, October 29
Vicky Sluiter, October 30
A Reader’s Brain, October 31
Moments, November 1
EmpowerMoms, November 2
Remembrancy, November 3
Godly Book Reviews, November 4
Pause for Tales, November 4

Giveaway


To celebrate her tour, Karin is giving away the grand prize of a copy of her book!!
Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!






I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am  disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”


Thursday, October 31, 2019

Mission Hollywood Celebration Tour!


About the Book


Book: Mission Hollywood
Author: Michelle Keener
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Release Date: July 16, 2019

What could possibly go wrong?

Movie star Ben Prescott arrives back in Hollywood after causing a scandal with his ex-girlfriend in Rome. Chased through the airport by paparazzi, he jumps into a limo hoping for a quick getaway. Instead he finds Lily Shaw, a pastor’s daughter and preschool teacher. When the paparazzi capture a photo of the two of them together, Ben’s agent demands that he do whatever it takes to keep the story from hitting the gossip pages . . . even volunteer to work at Lily’s church.
Sparks fly as the movie star and the pastor’s daughter work side by side. When Lily accompanies Ben to the premiere of his latest movie, Hollywood takes notice. Under intense media scrutiny and pressure from the movie industry, Ben must risk his career to follow his heart, but Lily wants the one thing he doesn’t have, faith.
Mission Hollywood is an inspirational story about love, faith, and second chances.  

Click here to get your copy!

My Thoughts:  This is a wonderful story of learning to trust God in everything.  It's learning to let the past go and learning to lean on God for everything.     This is a charming story of how God brings two people from different walks of life together, and in the midst of it all, brings Ben back to trusting in God.

A truly wonderful romance novel with a lesson of truth in it.   I found the characters to be believable and easy to identify with. The writer has done an excellent job of bringing the reader into the story and connecting with the characters.  The plot is fun and keeps the reader interested.   I really enjoyed this novel and will look forward to more from Michelle Keener.

⭐⭐⭐⭐
 

About the Author


Michelle Keener is a wife, mom, and the author of three books. She lives in Southern California with her retired Marine husband, their two children, and one spoiled dog. When she isn’t writing, she is busy homeschooling, teaching creative writing workshops, or baking something involving chocolate.
Michelle loves to hear from readers and you can usually find her on Twitter @MKeenerWrites or at her website www.MichelleKeener.com  

More from Michelle

Why Hollywood? That’s a great question! Of all the places I could have set a Christian romance novel, why pick Hollywood? It isn’t exactly the first place that pops into your mind when you think Christian romance, right? The truth is I spent four years of my life trying to become an actress. I was a theatre major in the Los Angeles area and I spent a lot of time in Hollywood. I’ve been down Hollywood Boulevard, visited casting offices, and gone to open-call auditions. In those years, I saw the good and the bad of the movie industry. I saw dreams shattered and hearts broken under the glamourous lights of the Sunset Strip. Years later, when I started thinking about writing a Christian romance, I knew Hollywood was the perfect setting to tell the story of God’s unchanging, never-ending love for us. Mission Hollywood isn’t just one love story, it’s two. The romance between Ben and Lily is definitely swoon-worthy, but there is also the story of how much God loves us. I hope you enjoy Mission Hollywood…it’s only the beginning of the story for the Shaw Family. Book two is coming in February!

Blog Stops

Among the Reads, October 24
Sara Jane Jacobs, October 24
Maureen’s Musings, October 25
Moments, October 27
Pause for Tales, October 29
She Lives To Read, October 29
Older & Smarter?, October 30
Blessed & Bookish, October 30
Godly Book Reviews, November 1
Back Porch Reads, November 2
Texas Book-aholic, November 3
Quiet Quilter, November 4
janicesbookreviews, November 5
A Reader’s Brain, November 6

Giveaway


To celebrate her tour, Michelle is giving away a Red Carpet Collection, which includes a signed paperback copy of Mission Hollywood, a custom Pura Vida bracelet in red carpet colors, a signed and numbered print of the original painting “Redemption” by artist Charlotte Lauder, a vintage-Hollywood style postcard, a bookmark, and a magnet!!
Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! 




I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am  disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Tuesday, October 29, 2019

Choices Celebration Tour!


About the Book


Book: Choices
Author: Jacquelyn Lynn
Genre: Contemporary Women’s Fiction
Release Date: April, 2019

In a horrifying moment of inattention on a dark morning, lives change forever.

When college student Samantha Lawrence takes her eyes off the road for just a few seconds to send a text, she swerves out of her lane and hits Kevin Wyland as he rides his bicycle. In a panic, she drives away.

After the crash, Samantha tries to find out who the rider is and the status of his injuries. She is shocked to discover that she knows him. Not only does she shop at the pet supply store he and his wife own, they are both regular customers of Joyful Cup, a popular neighborhood coffee shop, and friends with the owner, Joy Shepherd.

Consumed with overwhelming guilt and fear of criminal charges, Samantha decides to do whatever it takes to avoid being identified as the hit-and-run driver. Kevin struggles with anger, bitterness, and a crisis of faith as he embarks on the slow process of recovering from his serious injuries.

As their lives intertwine with increasing frequency, Samantha and Kevin both turn to Joy for advice and guidance. Can she help them find the forgiveness and peace they need?

This is a heartwarming story with a powerful message of forgiveness that will make you smile even as it brings tears to your eyes.

My Thoughts: This is a compelling story of forgiveness,  learning to let go and of course making choices.  Life is all about making choices, whether  they be the right ones,or learning to deal  with the wrong choices in our lives.

This is a story of how one young woman dealt with her choices and the consequences  of it.   I liked the advice that was given throughout the novel.   The reader can gain I right from the novel.

One thing I hope the readers take away from the novel is how dangerous texting and driving can be.
A wonderful read that was hard to put down.

⭐⭐⭐⭐


Click here to get your copy.  

About the Author


Jacquelyn Lynn finds joy in her faith, family, and friends, and in the knowledge that she is living God’s purpose for her life. In addition to Choices, she is the author of more than 30 non-fiction books including Finding Joy in the Morning and Words to Work By, as well as the meditations in the Christian Meditations and Faith Words Adult Coloring Books.
 

More from Jacquelyn

The idea for Choices first came to me more than five years ago. Though I’ve written (or ghostwritten) more than 30 non-fiction books, the process of writing a novel was both intriguing and intimidating. Once I voiced my desire, my wonderful husband Jerry Clement became my biggest champion, encouraging and even nagging me along the way as I talked but didn’t write. And when I finally began to write, he listened, offered suggestions, and proofread. Every time I voiced a doubt, he shot it down. As the manuscript neared completion, he designed the cover and supported me through the myriad of details that are essential to finishing and publishing a book. Had it not been for him, Choices would not be in readers’ hands today. As Choices began to take shape, I realized that Joyful Cup, the coffee shop where much of the story takes place, had many more stories to tell. The next book in the Joyful Cup Story series will be released in 2020.

Blog Stops

Giveaway


To celebrate her tour, Jacquelyn is giving away the grand prize of a $50 Amazon gift card and a copy of the book!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! 


I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am  disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”