Thursday, November 15, 2018

Christmas Love Year Round ~Giveaway~


About the Book


 
Book: Christmas Love Year Round
Author: Elaine Stock
Genre: Christian romance, sweet romance
Release Date: September 25, 2018

Cami Richardson is good at chasing away the men in her life: first Gavin Kinkaid, a former classmate she’d helped to bully, and later, her husband who left her widowed and a single mom. Now all she wants is to bring a smile back to her eight-year-old son. What she doesn’t expect is for Gavin to become her new neighbor.
Gavin wants to settle down after serving in the Air Force and mend the separation between him and his dad. What he didn’t count on is his changing feelings when he sees Cami as a kind woman instead of his former adversary.
When Cami’s son blindsides them both during the Christmas season, is their reunion at risk or will it grow stronger?

My Thoughts: A wonderful book just in time for the holidays!    This book was an enjoyable read that is full of many lessons.   This novel is not only about family, forgiveness and letting go, but also about bullying and what it can create.  Bullying, name calling is something I believe we have all faced at one time in our lives.   Beautifully written with a flowing storyline that keeps the reader interested.    

The characters are interesting, down to earth and easy to relate to.   This is an enjoyable romance novel with lessons to learn that the reader can read during the holiday season or any time of the year!  I look forward to reading more from  Elaine Stock.

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Click here to purchase your copy!

About the Author

[

 
Elaine Stock is the author of the novels Her Good Girl, winner of the 2018 American Fiction Awards in the Christian Inspirational category, and Always With You, which won the 2017 Christian Small Publishers Association Book of the Year Award in fiction. And You Came Along, a novella, released in December 2017. Her novels fuse romance, family drama and faith in a clean fiction style. She is a member of American Christian Fiction Writers, Romance Writers of America, and Women’s Fiction Writers Association. In addition to Twitter, Facebook, and Goodreads, she hangs out on her active blog, Everyone’s Story, dedicated to uplifting and encouraging all readers through the power of story and hope.
Born in Brooklyn, NY, Elaine has now been living in upstate, rural New York with her husband for more years than her stint as a NYC gal. She enjoys long walks down country roads, visiting New England towns, and of course, a good book.

Guest Post from Elaine

To love someone with all of your heart is the only thing that matters in this world. Readers often ask the origin of a story idea. When I wrote my first published novel, Always With You, I was asked if my husband was a white supremacist. No! When Her Good Girl released, the questions of whether my mother practiced Munchausen Syndrome by Proxy popped up as well. Although my mother, unfortunately, did suffer another mental illness, it wasn’t MSP. And now Christmas Love Year Round, Book 1 of the Kindred Lake romance series, is on sale. What does fuel my writing? What is a connecting theme between the stories I write? Love. Love is the most essential relationship we must share between all…between family members, friends, neighbors…between strangers, enemies, those who live differently than us, and foreign countries. A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another. By this everyone will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another. John 13:34-35 (NIV) Yet, isn’t honest love the hardest thing to do? Perhaps it is also the most difficult virtue to teach and the most vexing passion to express. Imagine this scenario: You’re a widowed mom with an impressionable eight-year-old son. Your conscience is riddled with the worry that you might have pushed your husband toward his death, and that’s on top of the weight bearing down on you from your childhood days of participating with others to bully a particular family in town. Then, the one boy who was part of that picked-upon family, now a grown man and stirringly handsome purchases the house across the street from you. You’ll likely see him every day. And, with a gulp, you realize…that you want to see him. That actually, despite all that transpired between the two of you back in high school, you’re Attracted to him with a Capital A. Might that magnetism between the two of you be mutual? This is the set-up between Cami and Gavin in Christmas Love Year Round. Will these two former adversaries forgive not only each other but themselves as well and take loving one’s neighbor to the next step of falling in love and making amends into amens? May each of you be blessed with love and joy year round!

Blog Stops

Back Porch ReadsNovember 3
Inklings and notionsNovember 4
Cultivating Us, November 6
Quiet Quilter, November 6
Moments, November 8
Robin is Bookish, November 9
Remembrancy, November 10
Vicky Sluiter, November 10
Bibliophile Reviews, November 11
Texas Book-aholic, November 13
Carpe Diem, November 14
Janices book reviewsNovember 15
godly Book Reviews, November 16
BigreadersiteNovember 16

Giveaway



To celebrate her tour, Elaine is giving away:

Grand Prize: Winner’s choice between print (US only) or Kindle of Christmas Love Year Round, Kindle of And You Came Along (companion novel to Christmas Love Year Round), and a $10.00 Amazon Gift Card
1st and 2nd Prizes: a Kindle edition of Christmas Love Year Round!!
Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! Click the link below to enter.

   I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am  disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Sunday, November 11, 2018

Shadows of Pain




 About the Book:  Revenge is sweet... unless you are on the receiving end of it.  “Do  you  know  of  anyone  who  would  want...you  dead?”Officer  Daniel Jenkins was no stranger to the dangers his job posed but usually, he  knew  who was trying to kill him.  Being stalked was a  completely different ball game, and he was n’t sure there were any rules...“...I  need  you.”Terrified didn’t even begin to describe how Kami felt with the stalker targeting her.  As an FBI  agent you were trained to handle stressful situations, but being the victim put the whole process in a different light.  As the killer gets closer,  so  do Kami and Daniel, but will they live long enough to see their love bloom?  Only God can save them from this unknown killer...

My Thoughts:   As we continue in the third book in the "Shadows" series, we find romance among the thrill of mystery.

This storyline focuses on the relationship between Daniel and Kami, but someone wants them dead!    

This is a great suspense series for those who love action and mystery and of course a little romance thrown in the balance.  Author Ashley Dawn has written a wonderful series that continues in the third book "Shadows of Pain".   You will find all the characters you loved from the first books with the same powerful intensity of writing and characters.    The readers can catch up with their favorites and enjoy the continuation of the series.   Well written and full of suspense, I honestly cannot wait to read the next in the series.

⭐⭐⭐⭐





About the Author: Ashley Dawn was born and raised in rural Arkansas where she developed her love for writing while helping in her parent's office.  She  graduated with an accounting degree from the University of Central Arkansas but is currently working as  a legal assistant.    Ashley has been writing professionally for the past twelve years and has four published books.    Her  Shadows Series include Shadows  From  The  Past, Shadows of Suspicion, Shadows of Pain,  and Shadows of Deception.    She is currently working on multiple projects including the fifth in her  ͚Shadows͛series  entitled  ͞Shadows  in Black and White͟ and also a standalone suspense titled  ͚One  of  Their  Own͛.    She  and her family make their home in  Texas.  


 I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am  disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”


Sunday, November 4, 2018

The Light Before Day


About the Book



Book: The Light Before Day  
Author: Suzanne Woods Fisher  
Genre: Historical Fiction  
Release Date: October 2, 2018

“Henry, this . . . fortune, this sudden wealth . . . I fear it will change our lives. And I don’t want my life to change.” After three years on a whaling voyage, Henry Macy returns to Nantucket to news that his grandmother has passed, bequeathing her vast fortune to him and his sister, Hitty. And it was truly vast. But Lillian Coffin was no fool. The inheritance comes with a steep cost, including when each should marry and whom—a Quaker in good standing, of course. But if they relinquish the inheritance, it all goes to Tristram Macy, their father’s thieving business partner. As Hitty and Henry seek a way to satisfy the will’s conditions, they’ll be faced with obstacles on every side—and it may be that Lillian Coffin will have the last word after all.

My Thoughts:  This is the third book in the series and it doesn't disappoint!   Suzanne Woods Fisher has done another incredible job with this series.   In this book, it focuses on the twins Hitty and Henry and the inheritance left to them by their grandmother.

Historians will enjoy the fact that the novel is based on true events that occurred during 1837-1846.  The author has done extensive history on Nantucket and the sea captains.   This novel does deal with the controversy of integration ( the segregated schools).   

I've enjoyed this series, especially reading Great Mary's journal and I believe readers will enjoy this book as well.    The reader doesn't need to read the first two books to enjoy this novel, but it would help with some of the histories of the family.

⭐⭐⭐⭐


Click here to purchase your copy!

About the Author



Suzanne Woods Fisher is an award-winning, bestselling author of more than two dozen novels, including Phoebe’s Light and Minding the Light, as well as the Amish Beginnings, The Bishop’s Family, and The Inn at Eagle Hill series. She has also written several nonfiction books about the Amish, including Amish Peace and The Heart of the Amish. Fisher lives in California. Learn more at www.suzannewoodsfisher.com and follow her on Twitter @suzannewfisher and Facebook @SuzanneWoodsFisherAuthor.

Guest Post from Suzanne

The Mortgage Button  




In each story of the ‘Nantucket Legacy’ series, there’s a reference to a mortgage button in the newel post of a stairway. Phoebe Starbuck, the main character in Phoebe’s Light, made a point to notice it in the captain’s house on Orange Street, the famous residences of sea captains. In Minding the Light, Daphne Coffin touched the mortgage button on the newel post of her horrible mother’s grand house each and every morning. Hitty and Henry Macy were well aware of the absence of their childhood home’s mortgage button—and all that its absence symbolized—in The Light Before Day. Mortgage buttons meant something to each of those characters. It made a statement to anyone who walked into a house. Have you ever seen a mortgage button?


 It’s a very Nantucket-y tradition. In fact, some say the mortgage button originated on Nantucket Island, thirty miles out to sea.


Supposedly, when a house’s mortgage was fully paid and there were no liens against the property, the homeowner drilled a hole in the newel post of the main staircase, rolled up the mortgage document, put it inside, and capped the hole with a decorative plug of scrimshaw. Scrimshaw is a term for an American folk art developed during the 18th and 19th centuries. Whaling in New England was an industry that lifted Nantucket Island to become the world’s wealthiest port. After a whale’s oil was rendered, the ship’s captain would give his crew the sperm whale’s teeth or bones to carve during long tedious hours at sea. Whaling had its exciting moments, but they were far and few between. As a pastime, sailors carved all kinds of useful gifts to bring home to their loved ones: needles, combs, games, clothespins, busks…and mortgage buttons. But let’s jump back to the mortgage button. Some legends say that the actual mortgage papers were ceremoniously burned and the ashes stashed inside the drilled hole before sealed with the button. However, as appealing a thought as that might be, it is most likely a myth. There’s never been any evidence of ashes or even hidden mortgages found in salvaged newel posts. Still, mortgage buttons are common among Nantucket homes, and the tradition has spread to other parts of the country. In southern states, for example, they’re called brag buttons. Whether myth or truth, today it’s more a matter of a charming nostalgic custom than a nod to your healthy (or…not so healthy) net worth.

Blog Stops

The Avid Reader, November 4
Texas Book-aholic, November 5
Godly Book Reviews, November 5
Among the Reads, November 8
Blogging With Carol, November 9
Mary Hake, November 10
Carpe Diem, November 11
Simple Harvest Reads, November 12
Janices book reviews, November 13
Captive Dreams, November 14
Bigreadersite, November 14
By The Book, November 15
Pause for Tales, November 16
Book by Book, November 16
Have A Wonderful Day, November 17
Bibliophile Reviews, November 17

Giveaway



To celebrate her tour, Suzanne is giving away a grand prize of a $50 Amazon gift card!!
Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! Click the link below to enter.


Click Here to Enter!



 I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am  disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Saturday, November 3, 2018

A Sparkle of Silver

About the Book:


Millie Sullivan plays a 1920s-era guest during tours of a palatial estate on the shore of St. Simons Island, Georgia, where her great-grandmother was a real guest ninety years ago. When Millie learns of a lost diary that may contain the location of a hidden treasure on the estate and reveal the identity of her great-grandfather, she sets out to find the truth of her heritage--and the fortune she desperately needs. But it won't be easy.

When security guard Ben Thornton discovers her snooping in the estate's private library, he threatens to have her fired. Still, her story seems too ludicrous to be fiction, and her offer to split the treasure is too tempting to pass up.

Get ready for a romantic escapade through dark halls and dusty corners that will have you holding your breath and sighing with delight.

"A mystery, a treasure hunt, and a split-time romance--all set within a beautiful chateau. 

My Thoughts:  This is a wonderful romance mystery that keeps the readers' attention from the beginning.  You can't help but love Millie, who is taking care of her grandmother diagnosed with dementia.  When Milie has to find another home for her grandmother, with little money to do it with, her grandmother tells her of a journal of her great grandmother's that has a treasure map.  Who doesn't like a good treasure hunt?    And so begins our story of intrigue and romance.    

This is a story of a lost romance and a new romance brought together by a unique situation.   I believe that readers will enjoy this story as much as I did.   It's not only about mystery and love, in this story we find two people trying their best to do right.  Millie taking care of her grandmother and Ben trying to right his mother's wrong.

⭐⭐⭐⭐




Liz Johnson is the author of more than a dozen novels, including The Red Door InnWhere Two Hearts Meet, and On Love's Gentle Shore, as well as a New York Times bestselling novella and a handful of short stories. A marketing manager for a Christian film company, she makes her home in Phoenix, Arizona.



 I received this book free from the publisher.    Revell Blog Tour Program I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am  disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”


Thursday, November 1, 2018

A Hour Unspent ~ Giveaway~


About the Book



Once London’s top thief, Barclay Pearce has turned his back on his life of crime and now uses his skills for a nation at war. But not until he rescues a clockmaker’s daughter from a mugging does he begin to wonder what his future might hold.
Evelina Manning has constantly fought for independence but she certainly never meant for it to inspire her fiancĂ© to end the engagement and enlist in the army. When the intriguing man who saved her returns to the Manning residence to study clockwork repair with her father, she can’t help being interested. But she soon learns that nothing with Barclay Pearce is as simple as it seems.
As 1915 England plunges ever deeper into war, the work of an ingenious clockmaker may give England an unbeatable military edge—and Germany realizes it as well. Evelina’s father soon finds his whole family in danger—and it may just take a reformed thief to steal the time they need to escape it.

My Thoughts:  This is an intriguing and entertaining book.  From the first chapter to the last, it has the reader completely enamored.     This is the third book in the series and if the reader like myself hasn't read the first two, they will be able to read along easily.   The setting takes place during the first world war and grabs the readers attention from the first page.   The characters are fun, witty and down to earth.   

I believe that this book is to teach us what family really is and to appreciate and to hold on tight and love our families.  It's a book about serving others and putting family first.

I believe that readers will truly enjoy this novel, especially those who love historical fiction.

⭐⭐⭐


Click here to purchase your copy!

About the Author



 
Roseanna M. White is a bestselling, Christy Award nominated author who has long claimed that words are the air she breathes. When not writing fiction, she’s homeschooling her two kids, editing, designing book covers, and pretending her house will clean itself. Roseanna is the author of a slew of historical novels that span several continents and thousands of years. Spies and war and mayhem always seem to find their way into her books…to offset her real life, which is blessedly ordinary. You can learn more about her and her stories at www.RoseannaMWhite.com.

Guest Post from Roseanna

Last year, as I finished up the writing of An Hour Unspent, my great-grandmother passed away at the age of 103. As I sat at her funeral service and listened to the heartfelt memorial raised up to her by her kids and grandkids, I realized anew that this woman had been a matriarch in the truest sense of the word. She’d taught my family for generations how to love the Lord and each other, how to serve the Lord and each other, and how to trust the Lord and each other. Grandma Seward was, in so many ways, the one who instilled in me my idea of what family really is. That idea—that it’s those knit together by love more than blood, and that faith is the strongest foundation—is what I built my unusual family of thieves upon in the Shadows Over England series. And strange as it is to liken my twenty-something reformed-thief hero to my 103-year-old-grandmother, Barclay Pearce is very much to his family what Maxine Seward was to mine. The founder. The caregiver. The leader. I knew as I began the series that I would write about Barclay in book three, and as I got to know him better throughout the series, I grew so excited to share his story! This is a man who led his family first into and then out of a life a crime, always for the right reasons—so he could provide for the children under his care. All he ever wanted to do was give them what he himself had lost. To show them love. To prove to them that they were worth any sacrifice. It was truly a blessing for me to get to write the story in which Barclay found someone to come alongside him, to appreciate and learn to understand him. To finally share what started him down this path. I loved the idea that only a reformed thief could steal the time another family needed to overcome their own trials. There are many historical items in the book that were such fun to explore—watchmaking of the era, the suffrage movement in England, technological advancements of the war—but at the heart, this isn’t a story about any of those. It’s a story about how far people should go for love. I hope you enjoy Barclay’s story as much as I did!

Blog Stops

The Avid ReaderOctober 30
The Power of WordsOctober 30
Back Porch ReadsOctober 30
Kat’s Corner BooksOctober 30
Faithfully BookishOctober 31
Genesis 5020October 31
Fiction AficionadoNovember 1
Among the ReadsNovember 1
The Lit AddictNovember 1
Just the Write EscapeNovember 1
MultifariousNovember 2
Godly Book ReviewsNovember 2
Madeline ClarkNovember 2
Christian BookaholicNovember 3
Bookworm MamaNovember 3
BigreadersiteNovember 3
Blogging With Carol , November 4
D’S QUILTS & BOOKSNovember 4
Life with the TribeNovember 4
The Becca FilesNovember 4
Kathleen DenlyNovember 5
Cordially BarbaraNovember 5
Simple Harvest ReadsNovember 5 (Guest Post from Mindy Houng)
All-of-a-kind MomNovember 6
Faery Tales Are RealNovember 6
Carpe DiemNovember 6
Margaret KazmierczakNovember 7
Blossoms and Blessings , November 7
Maureen’s Musings , November 8
Book by BookNovember 8
Just CommonlyNovember 8
cherylbbookblogNovember 9
Have A Wonderful Day , November 9
With a Joyful NoiseNovember 9
KarenSueHadley , November 10
Tell Tale Book ReviewsNovember 10
Baker kellaNovember 10
Bibliophile ReviewsNovember 10
Inklings and Notions , November 11
Two Points of InterestNovember 11
Henry HappensNovember 12
Texas Book-aholicNovember 12

Giveaway



To celebrate her tour, Roseanna is giving away a grand prize of a signed book, a London mug, and a 48-pack Twinings tea sampler!!
Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! Click the link below to enter.



 I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am  disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”