Thursday, December 14, 2017

courage For The Unknown Season




Jan Silvious is a professional life coach, speaker, and author.  In her book, she offers some wisdom and some insights for the seasonal changes of life.  We can’t deny it, we all go through seasons of life whether we are ready or not!   In her book, Jan prepares the reader using illustrations of people she knows and explains how we can cope with our season of life.    
It does not matter if you are young or old, we are all in our own special season and each season has its own set of trials.    It could be a sickness, aging parents, finances just to name a few. 
Jan teaches us about resilience, “the ability to bounce back during adversity”.  To do this we must look at everything with joy.  We all have our moments of adversity, a trial that we are facing, for each of us it is different, but we must remember that we are not alone.  Jan encourages us to join groups that uplift us, not ones that bring you down. 

I truly enjoyed the fact that Jan used a lot of scripture with her illustrations and encourages scripture memorization.  This book is very useful and can help anyone who is struggling in their time of life and the situations that it brings.    It can be used as a one on one book, or it could be used in a group setting.

Well written, easy to read, comes highly recommended.

I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

Friday, December 8, 2017

Notetaking Bible



This beautiful Bible is designed to help and to facilitate your study and for preparation for teaching and speaking.  It has a single column with enough space for note-taking, to make your observations and thoughts, or even to mark your own questions, insights and to add notes from sermons or even from teachers for those in Bible school.

It is a hard cover Bible with the most beautiful linen cover, Smyth- sewn binding as well as a presentation page.  With single column text with 1.75 in margins for ample note-taking.  It has the standard 8 point type, a One year Bible reading plan, a concordance and full color maps and in the easy to read Christian Standard Bible version.

"The CSB Notetaking Bible features the highly reliable, highly readable text of the Christian Standard Bible (CSB), which stays as literal as possible to the Bible’s original meaning without sacrificing clarity. "


When I opened the box I fell in love with this Bible, it is perfect for those who love to take notes, for teachers of the Word and for students of the Word.  With the sturdy binding and cover.  The one I received is has a feminine cover (which I love)  and is  the perfect size for carrying around.  


I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

Tuesday, December 5, 2017

The Most Important Women of The Bible



Aaron and Elaina Sharp have compiled a study selecting 31 women of the Bible; from the well known Eve and Esther to the lesser known Jochebed and Zipporah.  Each chapter or study begins with a quote and the scripture reference for the woman of the study.  You then will read a biography and learn more about that particular woman of the Bible and her key role.  At the end of every chapter, you will find questions that the authors have thought of for you to answer.

This is a well written and informative study that could be used alone or in a group setting for a women's Bible study.

I liked that each chapter is a different woman of the Bible.  I also liked the fact that they chose some of the "unknowns"  of the Bible with the in-depth biographies of each one.

I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

Thursday, November 30, 2017

He Holds My Hand




He Holds my Hand is a 365-day devotional written by Carol Kent during a period in her life when her world was turned upside down.  After learning her only son was arrested for murder, she turned to God and her Bible to find comfort.    The result of all her praying and meditating is found in this wonderful devotional. 
The devotional is splendidly written; under each day it begins with a quote followed byCarol's writings and then you find scripture to follow up the writings.

Two of my favorites are titled Gossip and Giant Slayers.  The reader will find that each devotion will speak to them personally and help them draw nearer to God.

With the attractive hardcover, in an easy to carry size, you can take this anywhere with you.   It is easy to read and to follow.

This devotional is not only for those who are hurting but anyone who wishes to draw nearer to God every day. 

This devotional comes highly recommended.

 received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

Wednesday, November 29, 2017

Renewed


Synopsis:  RENEWED is a devotional providing healing for those in ministry who have been hurt in the church. 

Ministry is a privilege, but it can also be a painful experience. Unrealistic expectations, church conflict, forced resignations, and our own struggles with burnout, loneliness, and insecurity can make church feel more like a place of wounding than a place of healing. How can wounded leaders find the courage to reject bitterness and keep loving the church?

RENEWED is a forty-day devotional for women in ministry, ministry wives, and lay leaders who have been wounded by their congregations. You are not alone. God sees your pain. He knows your hurts. And he is waiting to bind up your broken heart. This forty-day journey into the healing love of Jesus will help you find the courage to stop hiding and start loving the church again.

My Review: Working in ministry can be hard, complex and difficult at times. Leigh has done an impressive job of putting in perspective what happens in ministry.  Churches are built up of people and personalities; so there will be times of conflicts, difficult people and those who wish to oppose ideas in your ministry.  

This book of devotions will help those in ministry learn to turn to God and His word for comfort and understanding.  There are topics of lamenting, forgiveness, learning to lean on Him in rough times and just giving it all to Him. 
This is a must-have book for anyone in ministry, especially for pastor's wives so they will know what they are going to be facing when they take on the role of Pastor's Wife and knowing that they aren't the only one experiencing those certain situations; it's comforting knowing that you aren't the only one.

This would make a lovely gift for any women in ministry, I have truly enjoyed this book and found it very useful in my life.







 received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.


  

Tuesday, November 28, 2017

Spurgeon Study Bible




Charles Spurgeon has been called the “Prince of Preachers.” He preached to over 10 million people in his lifetime, and his written sermons have impacted millions more since 1866. The CSB Spurgeon Study Bible features thousands of excerpts from Spurgeon’s sermons, chosen and edited by Alistair Begg in order to bring the richness of the Prince of Preachers’ insights into your daily study of God’s Word.
 
Features include: Introductory Biography of Charles Spurgeon, Study notes crafted from Spurgeon sermons, Extracted sermon illustrations placed on the same page as the associated biblical text, Sermon notes and outlines in Spurgeon’s own handwriting, “Spurgeon Quotables” inserted throughout the Bible, Book introductions with book overviews in Spurgeon’s own words, Topical subheadings, Two-column text, Concordance, Smyth-sewn binding, Presentation Page, Full-color maps, and more.
 
The CSB Spurgeon Study Bible features the highly readable, highly reliable text of the Christian Standard Bible (CSB). The CSB stays as literal as possible to the Bible's original meaning without sacrificing clarity, making it easier to engage with Scripture's life-transforming message and to share it with others.


My Review:

Everyone knows and loves the works of Charles Spurgeon; now you can have them at your fingertips with this new study Bible.  Written in an easy to read Christian Standard version, in a larger font that is easy on the eyes for those who study frequently.  The hardcover with linen will stand up to much wear and tear; that means lots of study time!
The inside pages are attractive and durable.  I really appreciated the subheadings and book introductions.  What stood out the most was the quotes from Spurgeon that you will find throughout the Bible.  

I appreciate this Bible and the work that has gone into it.  It will make a great gift for a pastor, a theologian, and students of the Bible.



I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

Wednesday, November 15, 2017

Vanishing Point


It's Garret Addisson's first week on the job at Tennessee Bureau of Investigation and he has his first murder case already.  It isn't only one, the murder victim is number three in a series of murders.  The strange thing is, is that at the scene of every murder there is a Polaroid  picture of each victim  at the scene.

The TBI calls in Special Agent Jordan Lambert, a woman that Garret had a relationship with in police academy.    Will their relationship be rekindled?

This is an outstanding murder, mystery romance novel that I have read in a very long time.  It was difficult  to  put down.  The author keeps you in suspense on all levels in the story line. 

Even though I had not read any of the other" Nikki Boyd "  series, it did not affect the story line at all.  I was able to really jump in and comprehend the  story line without any problems following along.

What I truly enjoyed is how the author brought God into the whole situation and helps explain that God is in everything, even if it does involve suffering; explaining that God sometimes brings us to hard things to help nurture our faith and sometimes to help bring those who are not strong in faith or don't know Him to believe.

An amazing writer I highly recommend this book.


I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.




Wednesday, November 8, 2017

Marriage, God's Mission



There are countless marriage books telling couples how to be married--but where are the ones teaching them how to seek and serve God together? Clint and Penny Bragg believe that, just as every individual has a calling from God, every marriage has a specific mission.                          


My Review:   We live in an age of disposable everything.  When something doesn’t work, we throw it away.  Unfortunately, today that is what is happening to marriage.  People tend to give up when the trouble and tough times come.       Clint and   Penny Bragg have been working as marriage missionaries to use their past mistakes and show us how to strengthen and renew our marriages.
Together, they have written a weekly study to help focus your marriage on God’s word to learn how to seek and serve God together, you will learn that marriage requires a mission, you aren’t two independent people, but a couple working together with an assignment in mind.     Each of us has gifts that God has given us, in marriage, we find similar goals and work on them as a team.  For instance, teaching, discipling, gifts of evangelism, gifts of hospitality etc.   How do I know what my gifts are?  In chapter 3 there is a list for both to go through and find out where the common interests and gifting is. 
They encourage the reader to use God’s weapons which happen to be God’s word, verse memorization and they strongly urge couples to pray out loud with their spouses.
 You can tell it’s written by former military, it talks about “ops” and missions; Clint always refers to something from his past training in the book.    This isn’t a problem, I just found it rather tedious after a while.
All in all, a good tool for couples, it can be used together as husband and wife, or maybe in a group setting, or for premarital counseling.


About the Author

Clint and Penny A. Bragg now serve as marriage missionaries through the work of Inverse Ministries, their nonprofit organization. They share their testimony with audiences, teach seminars for couples, and equip ministry leaders across the nation and beyond. Their own story of reconciliation has been featured on multiple national and international television and radio programs. The Braggs are an active part of a nationwide network to strengthen, reconcile, and restore marriages.

Clint and Penny A. Bragg now serve as marriage missionaries through the work of Inverse Ministries, their nonprofit organization. They share their testimony with audiences, teach seminars for couples, and equip ministry leaders across the nation and beyond. Their own story of reconciliation has been featured on multiple national and international television and radio programs. The Braggs are an active part of the Ask the Experts panel of Christianity Today’s BuildingChurchLeaders.com.

I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

Thursday, October 26, 2017

Lady Jayne Disappears




Synopsis: When Aurelie Harcourt's father dies in debtor's prison, he leaves her just two things: his wealthy family, whom she has never met, and his famous pen name, Nathaniel Droll. Her new family greets her with apathy and even resentment. Only the quiet houseguest, Silas Rotherham, welcomes her company.

When Aurelie decides to complete her father's unfinished serial novel, writing the family into the story as unflattering characters, she must keep her identity as Nathaniel Droll hidden while searching for the truth about her mother's disappearance--and perhaps even her father's death.


My Review:   Lady Jayne disappears, is a captivating, mystery, romance story that truly was hard to put down.   The author immediately pulls you into the story with her writing., twisting plots and really keeping the audience entertained.
 I couldn't wait to see what happened to Lady Jayne, and what would happen to Miss Harcourt. The storyline focuses on Miss Harcourt as she struggles to survive in the upper society of London while trying to keep her identity secret and solving the mystery of what happened to Lady Jayne.
I was fascinated by Aurelie’s character.  She had the loving, helping, a selfless attitude which was entirely contradictory of her family at Lynhurst Manor.    It was interesting to follow her growth as she familiarized to the family, how she tried not to fall into the ways of society; that is pleasing others and pride is more important that Godly morals and thinking of others.   We watch as Aurelie struggles to hold on to her values; How tough must it have been to go from penniless to having anything you wanted? 

Lady Jayne Disappears is a well-done debut, I certainly look forward to reading more from this author.


I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

Monday, October 23, 2017

She Reads Truth Bible







The She Reads Truth Bible aims to live at the intersection of beauty, goodness, and Truth. Featuring devotionals by the She Reads Truth team, and Scripture reading plans that include supplemental passages for deeper understanding, this Bible invites every woman to count themselves among the She Reads Truth community of "Women in the Word of God every day." The She Reads Truth Bible also features 66 key verses, artfully lettered to aid in Scripture memorization.   

Features include: almost 200 devotionals, 66 artist-designed key verses, 35 full-color timelines, 20 full-color maps, 11 full-color charts, reading plans for every book of the Bible, one-year Bible reading plan, detailed book introductions, key verse list, carefully curated topical index, smyth-sewn binding, two colored ribbon markers, and wide margins for journaling and note-taking.   

The She Reads Truth Bible features the Christian Standard Bible (CSB) text. Translated by more than 100 scholars from 17 denominations, the Christian Standard Bible features an optimal blend of accuracy and readability that’s faithful for serious study and written with a heart-stirring clarity that inspires readers to live and share it.

My Review:

This is another wonderful study Bible geared for women.  It has helpful and enjoyable devotionals to read, to help illustrate and understand the verses,; as well as to help us apply the word of God.

As I was perusing through this Bible, I found on each of the chapters, there is an outline and also a "going deeper", with more verses to read.  Using the CSB translation, which I like and prefer is easy to read and is understandable; easy to read.

Inside you find some very attractive illustrations  which I feel add to the beauty of this Bible.


Mine came with a hard grey linen hardcover, that can withstand almost any amount of use; it lays flat on my desk which makes it good for note taking, not to mention the wide margins.





In reading other reviews, I found complaints on the "thinness" of the pages.  I compared it to all my other Bibles 
and found no difference in the thickness.  The only thing I found is the verses are not written line by line, which for me makes looking up verses harder as the verse numbers are smaller and harder to read.

All in all a good study Bible which will sit on my desk and be used regularly.



I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.




The Dishonorable Miss DeLancey



Will a damaged reputation and desire for society's approval thwart the legacy of grace?

Tainted by scandal and forced to leave London for the quieter Brighton countryside, the Honorable Miss Clara DeLancey is a shadow of her former society self. She's lost the man she loved to another and, in a culture that has no patience for self-pity, is struggling with depression. A chance encounter brings her a healing friendship with the sisters of an injured naval captain. But Clara's society mama is appalled at the new company she's keeping.

Captain Benjamin Kemsley is not looking for a wife. But his gallant spirit won't let him ignore the penniless viscount's daughter--not when she so obviously needs assistance to keep moving forward from day to day. Can he protect his heart and still keep her safe?


My Review:    This is the third novel in the Regency Brides: A Legacy of Grace series, it's time for  Clara's story.  For those who have read The Elusive Miss Ellison, you will recognize Clara as the woman who caused so much trouble for Lavinia and Nicholas.
Now Clara finds herself on the fringes of society, scorned by many after the 'scandal. She is completely at the mercy of the gossiping elite, and it doesn't help that her brother has made matters worse with his behavior.   Banished to Brighton for a time, she encounters the Kemsleys.  The Captain and his sisters. Once again, Miller captivates with old-fashioned discourse and all its understated distinctions.
 Once again  the author has written a wonderful, story that will make your head spin and keep the reader wanting more. There is adventure, jealousy, kidnap, revenge and of course romance.   But more than anything there is the story of forgiveness, redemption and the big one grace.      A story that shows a God that brings us restoration, second chances, and new beginnings.   We learn that there is more to life than social status, money or power, it is about God, His love, His forgiveness and showing that to others.
Forgiveness and guilt are the two themes that are presented in the storyline. Past behavior means we need to forgive ourselves and others.

I truly enjoyed this series and I certainly will look for more from this author!


 I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.




Wednesday, October 18, 2017

Women Who Move Mountains


Where would we be without prayer? Lost and alone.  Prayer is one of the most important tools that God has given us, he even says they are like perfume to Him.  God wants to hear our prayers, but often we are too busy, or just don’t know how or think we are unable to pray well enough.
Sue Detweiler uses this guide to help us exchange the obstacle of our life (our problems and tribulations, the dark times) for the promises of God.  She teaches us to pray with desire without the fear or insecurity that many of us have when it comes to prayer.  From this study, we learn to have that intimate close one on one time with God.  You will learn and discover what it means to become a powerful and effective woman of prayer, ones whose life is joyous and changing, not only your life but others around you.
 This book is a great tool for those looking to strengthen their prayer life.   It examines prayer at all levels. The examples from the Bible as well as the honest stories of ordinary, average women really assisted to illustrate the power we have when we go to God in prayer.
Amid our packed schedules and life's curveballs, our hearts long for more. We want to live and love well; we want to be a source of joy and life. The good news is that you can and the secret is found in the simple act of prayer.

With study questions and journaling exercises included, this is the perfect book to go deeper either on your own or with a group.

I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.



Monday, October 16, 2017

An Inconvenient Beauty




This is the final book in the Hawthorne series; in this book, we concentrate on Griffith, Duke of Riverton, who thrives on order, logic, and control and he applies this tactic when he decides to search for a bride.  He's certain Miss Frederica St. Claire is the perfect wife for him but Frederica who has her sights set on another, is always setting up ways to put her beautiful cousin in Griffith’s company.
Isabella Breckenridge should be enjoying her society debut, but with her family in difficult circumstances, her uncle will only help them if she'll use her beauty to assist him in his political goals. And sent for Isabella to come to London for this season’s society debut. 

Griffith, the main character in this book, and the Duke, the head of the family through the series, is the main theme in this book.   Griffith. takes his role as head of the Hawthorne line seriously while loving God and his family and being likable at the same time.  Like all of us, Griffith struggles with taking control of every aspect of his life, and he sees that matters of the heart cannot be completely planned out according to our will.
As in the other books in this series, you will be drawn into the family, their struggles, and triumphs and thoroughly enjoy every word.

Well written, easy to read, those who love historical fiction will love this book.

I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

Tuesday, September 26, 2017

Hagar



Hey everyone, I am part of a book launch team for an incredible Bible study, that is being released on October 10!  I have read through the first 3 weeks and I love this and recommend it to anyone looking for a new study.

I will be posting a full review soon!  I have enclosed a link to Shadia's author facebook page.

Shadia Hrichi Author Face book page

Today I am sharing a link to a video of author ShadiaHrichi talking about her new book.   This is a great study that has encouraged me, and has made me think deeper about Hagar and what God wants and has for us as His children.

Author Video

Full Review:

What do you think of when you hear the name Hagar?  Who was Hagar?  When I was invited to do a book launch on the Bible study of Hagar, I was intrigued.  This is one that I really wanted to do. 
We all know that Hagar was a servant given to Sarah, the famous one that gave birth to Abraham’s first son Ishmael. 
This study aptly named “The God Who Sees You”, is exactly what the study is about, God sees who we are and what we need.  As you go through this study you will feel that God loves you for who you are, exactly where you are at this moment.  You will see that He is with you, just as He was with Hagar during her flight into the desert.
This is a study that truly gets you into the word, one that makes you think.

Shadia Hrichi really gets into the scriptures and helps us as readers get into the scripture with her. After reading this, you will see Hagar from a deeper, different viewpoint, and discover that our God is the God Who Sees You, as well.

I did this study alone, but it would make a great study for a women’s group, one that I highly recommend.

 received this book free from the author. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

Monday, September 25, 2017

Awaken



Choosing is different than choosing a book to read.  This kind of reading is not for reading enjoyment or pleasure, it’s for listening to hear from God, something to pray over.
Once again choosing a devotional is a personal thing, and I believe that this one is a front-runner.  We all know Priscilla Shrirer through her Bible studies and her role in War Room.
This devotional will be a disappointment.  I was thrilled with this devotional.  Priscilla sits you down over 90 days and helps you meditate on a verse and she really makes you reflect about what was read.  She has a unique way of explaining and illustrating the verse so you can absolutely understand what is written and how it applies to your life.  You can really hear what God wants you to hear.   I also love that Priscilla encourages you to journal and put your own thoughts down at the end of every devotional. 
These devotionals will encourage you, challenge you and transform you. 
My favorite one and the one that spoke to me was on day 60, Quiet but not so quiet.  This encouraged me to sit down and find time with God no matter what circumstances are going on around me.

Highly recommended, well written and easy to read, this is one book that will always be open and read on my desk.


I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

Sunday, September 24, 2017

Becoming Resilient



At some point in our lives, we all will come across some sort of disappointment, hurt, a loss or some tragic event.   But how do we handle it?

What does Resilient mean?  It means to be hardy, strong or tough.  That is hard to do or to be in the times of trouble, tragedy or distress.   Author Donna Gibbs is a licensed professional counselor, who in her book takes the reader through some steps to become resilient.  She shares the secrets of building resilience that will help you in your time of anguish.  She gives hands-on approaches to deal with the things life throws at you, to enable you to move on through the pain and suffering only to come out stronger in the end.
She gives sound, practical advice through the lens of a Christian worldview. 
At the end of each chapter, you will find some “homework” or questions for you to work on which help enable the reader to move on or heal in their grief.


This is a wonderful book for those who just can’t seem to understand why something has happened or seem to be stuck in a period of pain, grief or anguish.

I received this book free from the Author and Revell/Baker Publishing Group.  I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”



Monday, September 18, 2017

These Healing Hills





Francine Howard has her life all planned, she would marry her high school sweetheart when he returned from the war, that was until he sends her a letter announcing his plans to bring home an English bride n 1945. Overwhelmed, Francine seeks a fresh start in the Appalachian Mountains, training to be a nurse midwife for the Frontier Nursing Service. Fran heard about the training in Kentucky and went to learn to be a nurse midwife and is taken with the beauty of the hills right away. She had heard about the “hillbillies” where she grew up in Cincinnati but quickly learned the truth about these people who were loyal to their mountains and families and had great common sense and knowledge. Her mother dead set against this tries to dissuade her from going, but Francine had her mind set on going.

Upon her arrival, she meets Woody a local mountain boy who loves to talk.  Through Woody, Francine learns all about his brother Ben who is away fighting in the war.

Affected by the shocks he witnessed at war as a medic, Ben Locke has never thought further ahead than making it home to Kentucky. His future masked and uncertain.  As much as he loves his beloved mountains, he's at a loss when it comes to visualizing what's next for his life.

When Francine's and Ben's paths crisscross, it's immediately clear that they are from different worlds and value different things. But love has a way of turning things around and revealing enticing new possibilities.

This is a very captivating read, and teaches the reader much about the mountain life and ways of living off the land., but most of all their dependency on the Lord.
What I really enjoyed the heroine Francine and her ability to adapt and come to love the area that God placed her.  With this, she earned the love and respect of the mountain people as she exerted herself to learn their ways, and to respect their beliefs.



 I received this book free from the Author and Revell/Baker Publishing Group.  I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Saturday, September 2, 2017

The Captain's Daughter


London 1879

Rosalynn Bernay finds herself in a quandary.  Running from her employment as a lady’s companion, falsely accused of stealing.  Instead of staying and facing her accusers, Rosalyn decides she has nowhere to run but to her sister Julia in Bristol.
As she is at the train station, she realizes that the train to London is the quickest way to escape.
When she arrives at the station in London, a handsome soldier tries to help her when she is met by an unscrupulous man who tries to get her to leave with him but along comes Mrs. Hurdle who offers a room and a meal and the young man is left doubting Rosalynn’s fate.  It isn’t long before Rosalynn realizes that Mrs. Hurdle’s is more than just a boarding house, and she flees into the night.

After a series of situations beyond her control leaves Rosalyn Bernay alone and penniless in London, she chances upon a job backstage at a theater putting on the most popular show in the city.   A talented musician and singer, she feels immediately at home and soon becomes enthralled with the idea of pursuing a career on the stage. That is, if the shadows from her past don't catch up with her.
After a hand injury forces Nate Moran from his army regiment in India, he returns home to London, a place that holds unpleasant memories. He agrees to fill in temporarily as a stagehand while his brother recuperates from a broken leg, but Nate is counting down the days until he can rejoin his regiment. His future is decided--until he meets a beautiful woman who has found a new lease on life in the very place Nate yearns to leave behind.
But then he meets the beautiful woman he met at the train station and the story recommences on from there. 
Rosalyn is a strong, intelligent, yet whimsical heroine worth cheering for.   An orphan raised by George Mueller, she has learned to rely upon god and I believe this is what gets her through her ordeals in the novel. 
This novel is truly based on scriptures and the main characters are firm believers, who give us a look into what happens when we truly put all our trust in the Lord our God.

I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.


Tuesday, August 22, 2017

Apologetics Study Bible For Students



As Christians, we will face times when we will face a time to defend and protect our faith.  young Christians are growing up in a time where these truths are being questioned by society.   This Bible will help them by equipping them in the truths of Scripture by training them with meaningful and hands on responses when the core issues of their faith and life are challenged.   
This Bible covers topics that our youth will come across every day, such as do Christians practice yoga?  Should we get tattoos?  Do Christianity and politics mix?  
Features Include: Presentation page, Book introductions, Study notes, Articles from popular youth leaders and apologists (including editor Sean McDowell), Sixty “Twisted Scripture” explanations for commonly misunderstood passages, Fifty “Bones & Dirt” entries (archaeology meets apologetics), Fifty “Notable Quotes," Twenty-five “Tactics” against common anti-Christian arguments, Twenty “Personal Stories” of how God has worked in real lives, Twenty “Top Five” lists to help remember key apologetics topics, Two-color design-intensive interior, Two-column text, 9.75-point type, Smyth-sewn binding, Ribbon marker, Full-color maps, and more.
 The CSB Apologetics Study Bible for Students features the text of the Christian Standard Bible (CSB), which is very easy to read and is as close to the Bible’s original meaning.

  This Bible certainly is for everyone, for those interested in apologetics, in youth ministry or teaching Sunday School, this is the Bible that  helps the teenage, college-age and young adult students in your life grasp Scripture in a way that relates to the cultural issues of the day so that they can impact the people around them.

I enjoyed this Bible very much, the font size is very easy to read, the articles were easy to find.  Not to mention the full-color maps.  It also includes black and white photos throughout.  With its attractive cover and design, this Bible is a winner.


I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

Wednesday, August 9, 2017

Never Unfriended



Have you ever felt betrayed or let down by a friend?  How about when someone “unfriends” you on Facebook?  Or maybe you just have a hard time making friends?

Author Lisa-Jo Baker takes us into a study of “friendship” and gets down to the “nitty gritty” of relationships, how to manage them and how to grow them.
Lisa- Jo examines all the reasons why relationships work, don’t work and why we may be afraid of them.

This book is for the hurt women, the women who wish they had sisters, women who are the why wasn’t I invited women.

Being in ministry, it helped me understand relationships better, I have seen the cliques, I have heard “We cannot invite them, it would show favoritism”.   I know what it feels like to be “unfriended”.
I also like that the author brings out that inter net has opened a whole bunch of new super highways of opportunities to covet our neighbor’s life with our social media we are able to look into our friends lives deeper and we know when we have been slighted, forgotten, not invited, or even unfriended.
I was also delighted that the author uses Biblical illustrations and verses to get her points across to the reader.
Have you ever felt betrayed or let down by a friend?  How about when someone “unfriends” you on Facebook?  Or maybe you just have a hard time making friends?

Author Lisa-Jo Baker takes us into a study of “friendship” and gets down to the “nitty gritty” of relationships, how to manage them and how to grow them.
Lisa- Jo examines all the reasons why relationships work, don’t work and why we may be afraid of them.

This book is for the hurt women, the women who wish they had sisters, women who are the why wasn’t I invited women.

Being in ministry, it helped me understand relationships better, I have seen the cliques, I have heard “We cannot invite them, it would show favoritism”.   I know what it feels like to be “unfriended”.
I also like that the author brings out that inter net has opened a whole bunch of new super highways of opportunities to covet our neighbor’s life with our social media we are able to look into our friends lives deeper and we know when we have been slighted, forgotten, not invited, or even unfriended.
I was also delighted that the author uses Biblical illustrations and verses to get her points across to the reader.



 I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.


Sunday, August 6, 2017

Fragile Hope



In this novel, we are introduced to Josiah Chamberlin, a well-known marital counselor who has written many books on the subject and his wife Karin, an artist with her own unique line of greeting cards; “Seedlings and Sentiments”.
Josiah is too involved with his own work that he tends to put his profession of  author, speaker and relationship expert over the importance of his marriage.    When we meet Karin, she is at her breaking point with Josiah and her marriage.   The night that she plans to leave her so-called marriage counselor husband, she ends up in a car wreck with her friend and business partner’s husband.

 When Josiah gets to the hospital he finds his wife with major brain injury and pregnant.   Josiah had been told that the possibility of him ever having children was extremely impossible.  So, with his wife in a coma and no one else to fill in the facts, Josiah feels betrayed.
As we continue in the story Josiah examines his own life, the fragility of hope, and learning the strength of love and faith.

This is an amazing book of faith, hope love, and courage.    From the first paragraph to the last, you can feel the hope of reconciliation, the hope of healing, the hope of acceptance, the hope of truth.   It is a book full of energy, one that the reader certainly does not want to put down.

I connected fully with the plot, I felt what all the characters were going through.   I have been in Karin’s place, having my self-gone through brain surgery.  I know how it feels for the family involved, the husband the parents.   I was so encouraged by the thoughts and sentiments that were at the beginning; of each chapter. Such as “Hope does not have an expiration date”. 
I believe that the reader will come away from reading this novel, the lessons of the delicateness and the strength of love; the constant need to nourish and grow our relationships and how important communication is in our lives, especially to those closest to us.

I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.





Saturday, August 5, 2017

A Day At The Beach



A devotional that centers around a beach or vacation theme.  This is perfect for those who  crave a day at the beach where your mind and soul can focus on God’s word and take you away from your day to day routine.   Do you long to hear his quiet voice?    A Day at the Beach will help you put the worries and thoughts of the world behind you and brothers Todd and Jedd will help you see that the God who built the universe also wants to help you build a great life. Let these inspiring words bring a ray of warm sunshine to your life  as Todd and Jedd offer their joy-filled viewpoints on life and faith help you, unplug from life’s daily grind, and follow the call of your heart to Jesus, the ultimate source of life

Small and compact so that you can take it anywhere; with a sturdy bright and waterproof cover. 


These devotions are packed full of insightful illustrations that make God’s word come alive.  Anyone can relate to them easily and apply them to their own lives.



I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

Friday, July 21, 2017

The Captivating Lady Charlotte



The 2nd book in the series Regency Brides, we find ourselves looking into the life of Lady Charlotte Featherington.      As a brand new debutante and as the beautiful daughter of a marquess, she is destined for great things on the marriage market.  She should have her pick of the eligible nobility when she debuts.  Having love at the top of her list of marriageable attributes;   her romantic heart falls hard for one particularly dashing, attentive suitor.   Her father intends her betrothed to be someone that she thinks is dull, and is less handsome.

William Hartwell may be a duke, but he knows he was Charlotte's father's pick, not the young lady's own choice. And the captivating Lady Charlotte does not strike him as a woman who will be wooed by his wealth or title. While she has captured his heart, he has no idea how to win hers in return--and the betrayal and scandal his first wife put him through makes it difficult for him to believe that love can ever be trusted. His only hope is that Charlotte's sense of responsibility will win out over her romantic notions.

Can a widowed duke and a romantically inclined lady negotiate a future and discover love beyond duty? Will they be able to find healing and hope from the legacy of grace?   Will Charlotte learn the true meaning of love?


This is a wonderful story for those who love historical fiction, full of mystery and romance.   

I enjoyed this book so much.  the author ties in the characters from book one very well, and even those who have not read book one will be able to catch up and follow along with no problem. 

Well written and easy to read, this makes a great read.




I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.