Saturday, April 29, 2017

The Women's Study Bible NKJV



This is an amazing Bible.   I have to say it is myFavorite Bible.   Ms. Patterson and her team has done an excellent job of putting this Bible together.   It is theologically and doctrinal sound.   I love the Holman translation, it is easy and clear to read.   The print size is excellent.   I have recently gone through a major brain operation, and this review copy was sitting waiting for me the day after I woke up!  I am able to read and follow the text clearly.

Ms. Patterson is a wonderful woman, I have heard her speak and I truly do recommend this Bible for any age woman. 

 The Study Bible for Women equips you to reach deep into God’s Word. Perhaps the single most powerful aspect of this Bible are the "threads" of specialized study thoughtfully woven throughout, pointing you to God’s larger story and allowing the Holy Spirit to write His revealed truths on your heart.

Features Include:

Beautiful full-color design throughout Detailed biographical portraits of over 100 biblical women Thousands of extensive verse-by-verse study notes Over 300 in-text topical articles on relevant issues Insightful essays by women who are recognized experts in the fields of theology, biblical studies, archaeology, and philosophy Book introductions and outlines Hundreds of full-color in-text maps, charts, timelines, and family trees Quotes from godly women throughout history Set of full-page maps of the biblical world Topical index Concordance .
This wonderful Bible just had a huge update.  The lovely and beautiful new hardcover is amazing to look at and sturdy to take anywhere.  Inside you find full-color pages.  I love these Bibles!
I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.



Saturday, April 15, 2017

Messy Beautiful Friendship





From the Publisher (Baker Books)

We long for deep and lasting friendships, but they can be challenging to make--and keep. Our expectations of ourselves and our friends can often leave us feeling insecure and isolated. With engaging true stories and guidance drawn from Scripture, Christine Hoover offers a fresh, biblical vision for friendship that allows for the messiness of our lives and the realities of our schedules. She shows you:

- what's holding you back from developing satisfying friendships
- how to make and deepen friendships 
- how to overcome insecurity, self-imposed isolation, and past hurts
- how to embrace the people God has already placed in your life as potential friends
- how to revel in the beauty and joy of everyday friendship


Christine Hoover has done an amazing job helping women develop, maintain, and renew broken relationships.  What really jumped out to me was how she related friendships to a fire.  A fire can be cozy, warm and comforting; or it can burn and hurt us.

How many of us have been in a hurtful friendship?  How many of us are shy introverts who are just afraid to take that first step?

In this book, Christine covers all that and more.  The book is well written, easy to follow and really makes you think.

In the back of the book are some questions that would make this book excellent for a women's group study.  Also, there  are some lessons on friendship and some Bible verses on friendship.

I really enjoyed this book, it was easy to get into, the only thing I would change is the font size.  It was just a little too small for my eyes (with bifocals and readers) to read.


I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.












Thursday, April 13, 2017

The Women of Easter



Once again, Liz Curtis Higgs, brings us closer and into the lives of the women of Easter, otherwise known as the three Mary's.   Mary of Bethany, Mary of Nazareth and Mary Magdalene.

This book was originally written as an online Bible study during the Lenten season and now we  have a copy we can go back to time and time again, to learn more about these amazing women and what Easter really means.   Ms. Higgs teaching once again excels as she combines all four of the gospels and walks us through those final days through the eyes of the Mary's.

This book will take you closer to the cross and as you read, you will find your faith will deepen.

It is an enjoyable and informative book as we walk in the lives of the three Mary's.  This book is highly recommended.  It can be used in a group setting or for personal reading.  


I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.


Wednesday, April 12, 2017

Praying The Psalms Drawing Near to the Heart of God




We all know that prayer is one of the most powerful weapons we have.  We all have tried at one time or another to pour our hearts and deepest feelings to God, but sometimes we feel we don't have the words to tell Him?

This book will help you dig deep into the pages of the Psalms and connect with God.   This is a lovely devotional style book that is perfect for anyone, male or female.

With the attractive, durable cover anyone would be delighted with this book.  Small enough to carry it anywhere, but  so easy to read.




I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.


CSB Ultra Thin Reference Bible



The CSB Ultrathin Reference Bible features the highly reliable, highly readable text of the Christian Standard Bible (CSB), which stays as literal as possible to the Bible’s original meaning without sacrificing clarity. The CSB’s optimal blend of accuracy and readability makes Scripture more moving, more memorable, and more motivating to read and share with others.
Features include: Smyth-sewn binding, Presentation page, Two-column text, Center-column cross references, Topical subheadings, Words of Christ in red, 8.5-point type, Concordance, Full-color maps, and more.
The CSB Ultrathin Reference Bible is easy-to-carry and easy-to-read, featuring a robust center-column, cross-reference system, 8.5-point type, and an ultrathin design which slips easily into a purse, briefcase, or backpack. As America’s oldest Bible Publisher, Holman is a pioneer in the development of Ultrathin Bibles, giving careful attention to breakthroughs in typography and paper manufacturing to produce a Bible that combines readability, portability, and durability.

This Bible has it all, it is compact and easy to carry.  At first, I thought being ultra thin the type would be too small to read, but it's not.  

I also enjoy the center column with the cross-references; not only is it good to have them there to refer to, but it also gives me some note taking space.

The attractive sturdy leather touch cover will stand up to much reading and will last a long time.   The pages are of good quality and the maps and concordance are perfect.



 I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

Tuesday, April 11, 2017

A Trail of Crumbs



Pearl Spence has been through more in her lifetime than most people will ever experience.  In this sequel to "Cup of Dust" , we return to Red River Oklahoma to the Spence family.     The story begins with yet another dust storm, which takes the life of "Bennie", Pearl's older mentally challenged sister.   Pearl ends up in the hospital with dust pneumonia and the family is forced into a decision to move to Michigan to start life over and Pearl can heal.

This story and writer really makes the reader understand what life was like during the "dust bowl" and what the families had to endure.   This is the story of family struggles, love and trusting in God.

This book is another good read from an author that takes you right into the story line and lets you identify with the characters.


I received this book free from the publisher. http://www.kregel.com I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”


Tuesday, April 4, 2017

The Elusive Miss Ellison



The handsome new Earl of Hawkesbury has arrived and has the whole village aflutter, but t hat's the firm opinion of not-so-meek minister's daughter Lavinia Ellison. So even though all the other villagers of St. Hampton Heath are swooning over the newly returned seventh Earl of Hawkesbury, she is not impressed. If a man won't take his responsibilities seriously and help those who are supposed to be able to depend on him, he deserves no respect from her. In Lavinia's pretty, gray eyes, Nicholas Stamford is just as arrogant and reckless as his brother--who stole the most important person in Livvie's world.

Nicholas is weighed down by his own guilt and responsibility, by the pain his careless brother caused, and by the legacy of war he's just left. This quick visit home to St. Hampton Heath will be just long enough to ease a small part of that burden. Asking him to bother with the lives of the villagers when there's already a bailiff on the job is simply too much to expect.

That is, until the  clever, witty  and very outspoken Miss Ellison challenges him to see past his pain and pride. With her angelic voice in his head, he may even be beginning to care. But his isn't the only heart that needs to change.


These two lonely hearts may each have something the other needs. But with society's opposition, ancestral obligations, and a shocking family secret, there may be too many obstacles in their way.

A novel for those who enjoy literature of Jane Austen, and historical novels.   This is a fun, witty, yet serious novel.

The author keeps the reader entertained and looking for more.   The story plot was very interesting and had the reader glued to the book.

 I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

Thursday, March 30, 2017

Lighthouse Faith





We live in a world of hurting, one that sees violence in the news almost every day and this is a book that helps people look to the light, the one true light that will help give us our joy, comfort and relieve our fears.

Lighthouse Faith: God as a Living Reality in a World Immersed in Fog by Lauren Green published by W Publishing an imprint of Thomas Nelson. Green is a household name, known for her hard-hitting journalism for Fox News as well as her committed truthfulness.

This book is Green’s  journey of faith as she travels  seeing the proof of God’s creation   that takes evidence  in ways and in places she did not expect.


The book is a composition  of thoughts and reflections on life and spirituality that hopefully will encourage those who may be struggling with their faith, those who question where God is in this world right now.  

This book is a wonderful evangelistic tool,  I  was enthusiastic  to read this book, as I  love lighthouses, knowing that they not only represent keeping people safe in a worldly sense, but God is our light and our strong tower.  
I truly think that Ms. Green did a good job with explaining who God is and what He can do for us in this world of fog.


I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.


Thursday, March 2, 2017

The Daniel Code



From The back of the book:

We live in dangerous times. Not only does violence stalk us in the form of terrorism and crime, but our culture itself is crumbling. Our society tolerates and even praises what would once have been barely spoken of. If we stand up we are branded as intolerant, the term today’s culture considers the inexcusable offense.  If we don’t speak up, people won’t know biblical truth.  How is a Christian to respond?

Inspired by the story of Daniel in the Old Testament, bestselling author O.S. Hawkins shows how we can engage our broken culture with integrity. Daniel was a young man who “wrote the book” on how to survive in a pagan, permissive, and perverse culture.  His value system was challenged at every turn.

Daniel steps off the pages of scripture and into our modern culture today to reveal some timeless principles—a sort of “Daniel Code”—that enable you to not simply exist in our culture but to engage it and survive it as well. You will discover that the same God that ensured Daniel’s victories is here for you .


Many of us can find the book of Daniel confusing, or unable to relate it to our lives.   Author O.S. Hawkins, a very fine writer has done an excellent job in clarifying the book of Daniel for us.    

I can appreciate the way he relates Daniel to our lives today, living under pressure for our faith, living amongst those who don't believe the way we do.. and so on.  

I think one of my favorite ones is  lessons from then.. for now, it explains how we can benefit from what Daniel had to experience.

This book is for everyone.   It is for those who want to learn more about the Bible, for teachers of the Bible and for those looking at how the Bible relates to our lives today.



I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.




Tuesday, February 28, 2017

The Newcomer



The  newcomer is a novel based on the history of the Amish and Mennonite groups coming to the new land that was given by William Penn to settle  and  start a new life. 
In this story we meet  a  group that have just arrived from their long journey.  It's the year 1737, Anna Koning  and her fellow church members have  just stepped off  a small wooden ship after 10 weeks of traveling, very eager to start her new life in America; the  exciting but untamed Pennsylvania frontier   While aboard the ship sAnna has met Bairn, and a romance has begun, but when they arrive and Bairn meets his parents for the first time in many long years.  We find out that Bairn was travelling with his father to the new land in previous years with his father Jacob.  Jacob was told that Bairn had died.
. On the docks of Port Philadelphia waits bishop Jacob Bauer, founder of the settlement and father to ship carpenter Bairn. It's a time of new beginnings for the reunited Bauer family, and for Anna and Bairn's shipboard romance to blossom.

But this picture-perfect moment cannot last. As Bairn grasps the reality of what it means to be Amish in the New World--isolated, unbending with expectations, under the thumb of his domineering father--his eagerness vanishes. When a sea captain offers the chance to cross the ocean one more time, Bairn grabs it. Just one more crossing, he promises Anna. But will she wait for him?

Then we meet Henrik Newman whho  joins the church just as it makes its way to the frontier, Anna is uncertain.    Henrik shows intrest in Anna, and  he seems to be everything Bairn is not--bold, devoted, and delighted to compete for her heart.  Henrik  is here; Bairn is not.


Far from the frontier, an unexpected turn of events weaves together the lives of Bairn, Anna, and Henrik. When a secret is revealed, which true love will emerge?

This was a fast and easy book to read.  For those who love the Amish fiction, this is definitely a book for you to read.   

This novel is well researched and well written.  It is full of romance, adventure and keeps you wanting more.

I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.


Wednesday, February 15, 2017

The Jesus Club


























From the back of the book:

In this riveting true story, Brian Barcelona recounts how, just a few months after graduation, he responded to God's directive and returned to his high school campus to preach the gospel to the students.  He had no training, no resources and no experience.  Just raw passion and obedience.

This is the true story of how a former atheist turned the world upside down for many high schools.  I found the book to be very interesting and useful.  This is the generation that we need to get into our churches, to make them into our future leaders in the church.  

If one man can turn his obedience to God into a success like this why can't we all?


I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

Wednesday, January 25, 2017

My Heart




What if your world were changed in one heartbeat?  This is what happened to Julie Manning while giving birth to her second child.  During delivery, her heart stopped.  After extensive testing doctors determined that it was not just a one time thing.

This is a first person count from Julie Manning.   Julie invites you in to her world, and through her journals and writings we learn how she turned to God when her world was turned upside down.  How she learned that at any time she could go into cardiac arrest.

This story is very moving, and inspirational.   This book is for anyone who may know someone going through a difficult time, or going through a stormy time in their own lives.

While I was reading this book, it brought back fresh memories of  my storm, when my family almost lost me due when I had emergency brain surgery two years ago.   This book will show you that you can lean on God, that you can put it all in His hands, no matter how big or how small your storm is.

There is also a prayer journal that you can get with the book that will be very helpful to jot down your thoughts and emotions.  This is a very moving and inspiring book,  I feel privileged to be one of the few chosen to review this book.
http://www.bhpublishinggroup.com/products/my-heart

Watch this video: My Heart Video

I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.


Saturday, January 14, 2017

Seven Stories That Shape Your Life



The most basic questions everyone faces in life is Why am I here? What is my purpose? Gerard Kelly presents the stories that make up the overall story of God in the world. And here we find our purpose for each of our individual Christian lives. Our purpose is as distinctive as our fingerprint and we will connect with it when we connect with our identity and origin in God. God remembers how he made us and is committed to the fruitfulness and fulfilment of our potential. We discover the importance of finding our place of service and usefulness, knowing that our lives have meaning in the purposes of God.

This book is interesting, the author uses people in the Bible to illustrate his points that we are here for a purpose.  

The title can be misleading, this is not a book of stories, but rather like I stated, the author uses people in the Bible to illustrate our purpose here.  An interesting read,  thought provoking.  Some may consider it a "dry" read; more of an intellectual type book.

Kregel Publishers

I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

Tuesday, January 10, 2017

Detours



Have you ever felt stuck, or wondered why you are in one place and not another?  Or ever say why in the world am I here?

Mr. Evans explains to us that detours can often be a good thing, no matter how it makes us feel.  He explains that detours help avoid hazards or bad things that may come.

By using the example of the life of Joseph, He explains that our paths aren't always a to z, but may go c to t to g etc.  I know that in my life, it seems like we have done circles many times and there has always been a very good reason.

We have to look at detours as a training time, a time of lifting up and getting us ready for our next road that we take.

Mr. Evans also answers questions  How can you make the most of the detours God has planned for you?

What is the purpose of a detour?

This is a great book if you feel stuck in place, or just can't see what God has planned for your life right now.

httpsDetours with Tony Evans


I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.