Wednesday, October 18, 2017

Women Who Move Mountains


Where would we be without prayer? Lost and alone.  Prayer is one of the most important tools that God has given us, he even says they are like perfume to Him.  God wants to hear our prayers, but often we are too busy, or just don’t know how or think we are unable to pray well enough.
Sue Detweiler uses this guide to help us exchange the obstacle of our life (our problems and tribulations, the dark times) for the promises of God.  She teaches us to pray with desire without the fear or insecurity that many of us have when it comes to prayer.  From this study, we learn to have that intimate close one on one time with God.  You will learn and discover what it means to become a powerful and effective woman of prayer, ones whose life is joyous and changing, not only your life but others around you.
 This book is a great tool for those looking to strengthen their prayer life.   It examines prayer at all levels. The examples from the Bible as well as the honest stories of ordinary, average women really assisted to illustrate the power we have when we go to God in prayer.
Amid our packed schedules and life's curveballs, our hearts long for more. We want to live and love well; we want to be a source of joy and life. The good news is that you can and the secret is found in the simple act of prayer.

With study questions and journaling exercises included, this is the perfect book to go deeper either on your own or with a group.

I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.



Monday, October 16, 2017

An Inconvenient Beauty




This is the final book in the Hawthorne series; in this book, we concentrate on Griffith, Duke of Riverton, who thrives on order, logic, and control and he applies this tactic when he decides to search for a bride.  He's certain Miss Frederica St. Claire is the perfect wife for him but Frederica who has her sights set on another, is always setting up ways to put her beautiful cousin in Griffith’s company.
Isabella Breckenridge should be enjoying her society debut, but with her family in difficult circumstances, her uncle will only help them if she'll use her beauty to assist him in his political goals. And sent for Isabella to come to London for this season’s society debut. 

Griffith, the main character in this book, and the Duke, the head of the family through the series, is the main theme in this book.   Griffith. takes his role as head of the Hawthorne line seriously while loving God and his family and being likable at the same time.  Like all of us, Griffith struggles with taking control of every aspect of his life, and he sees that matters of the heart cannot be completely planned out according to our will.
As in the other books in this series, you will be drawn into the family, their struggles, and triumphs and thoroughly enjoy every word.

Well written, easy to read, those who love historical fiction will love this book.

I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

Tuesday, September 26, 2017

Hagar



Hey everyone, I am part of a book launch team for an incredible Bible study, that is being released on October 10!  I have read through the first 3 weeks and I love this and recommend it to anyone looking for a new study.

I will be posting a full review soon!  I have enclosed a link to Shadia's author facebook page.

Shadia Hrichi Author Face book page

Today I am sharing a link to a video of author ShadiaHrichi talking about her new book.   This is a great study that has encouraged me, and has made me think deeper about Hagar and what God wants and has for us as His children.

Author Video

Full Review:

What do you think of when you hear the name Hagar?  Who was Hagar?  When I was invited to do a book launch on the Bible study of Hagar, I was intrigued.  This is one that I really wanted to do. 
We all know that Hagar was a servant given to Sarah, the famous one that gave birth to Abraham’s first son Ishmael. 
This study aptly named “The God Who Sees You”, is exactly what the study is about, God sees who we are and what we need.  As you go through this study you will feel that God loves you for who you are, exactly where you are at this moment.  You will see that He is with you, just as He was with Hagar during her flight into the desert.
This is a study that truly gets you into the word, one that makes you think.

Shadia Hrichi really gets into the scriptures and helps us as readers get into the scripture with her. After reading this, you will see Hagar from a deeper, different viewpoint, and discover that our God is the God Who Sees You, as well.

I did this study alone, but it would make a great study for a women’s group, one that I highly recommend.

 received this book free from the author. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

Monday, September 25, 2017

Awaken



Choosing is different than choosing a book to read.  This kind of reading is not for reading enjoyment or pleasure, it’s for listening to hear from God, something to pray over.
Once again choosing a devotional is a personal thing, and I believe that this one is a front-runner.  We all know Priscilla Shrirer through her Bible studies and her role in War Room.
This devotional will be a disappointment.  I was thrilled with this devotional.  Priscilla sits you down over 90 days and helps you meditate on a verse and she really makes you reflect about what was read.  She has a unique way of explaining and illustrating the verse so you can absolutely understand what is written and how it applies to your life.  You can really hear what God wants you to hear.   I also love that Priscilla encourages you to journal and put your own thoughts down at the end of every devotional. 
These devotionals will encourage you, challenge you and transform you. 
My favorite one and the one that spoke to me was on day 60, Quiet but not so quiet.  This encouraged me to sit down and find time with God no matter what circumstances are going on around me.

Highly recommended, well written and easy to read, this is one book that will always be open and read on my desk.


I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

Sunday, September 24, 2017

Becoming Resilient



At some point in our lives, we all will come across some sort of disappointment, hurt, a loss or some tragic event.   But how do we handle it?

What does Resilient mean?  It means to be hardy, strong or tough.  That is hard to do or to be in the times of trouble, tragedy or distress.   Author Donna Gibbs is a licensed professional counselor, who in her book takes the reader through some steps to become resilient.  She shares the secrets of building resilience that will help you in your time of anguish.  She gives hands-on approaches to deal with the things life throws at you, to enable you to move on through the pain and suffering only to come out stronger in the end.
She gives sound, practical advice through the lens of a Christian worldview. 
At the end of each chapter, you will find some “homework” or questions for you to work on which help enable the reader to move on or heal in their grief.


This is a wonderful book for those who just can’t seem to understand why something has happened or seem to be stuck in a period of pain, grief or anguish.

I received this book free from the Author and Revell/Baker Publishing Group.  I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”



Monday, September 18, 2017

These Healing Hills





Francine Howard has her life all planned, she would marry her high school sweetheart when he returned from the war, that was until he sends her a letter announcing his plans to bring home an English bride n 1945. Overwhelmed, Francine seeks a fresh start in the Appalachian Mountains, training to be a nurse midwife for the Frontier Nursing Service. Fran heard about the training in Kentucky and went to learn to be a nurse midwife and is taken with the beauty of the hills right away. She had heard about the “hillbillies” where she grew up in Cincinnati but quickly learned the truth about these people who were loyal to their mountains and families and had great common sense and knowledge. Her mother dead set against this tries to dissuade her from going, but Francine had her mind set on going.

Upon her arrival, she meets Woody a local mountain boy who loves to talk.  Through Woody, Francine learns all about his brother Ben who is away fighting in the war.

Affected by the shocks he witnessed at war as a medic, Ben Locke has never thought further ahead than making it home to Kentucky. His future masked and uncertain.  As much as he loves his beloved mountains, he's at a loss when it comes to visualizing what's next for his life.

When Francine's and Ben's paths crisscross, it's immediately clear that they are from different worlds and value different things. But love has a way of turning things around and revealing enticing new possibilities.

This is a very captivating read, and teaches the reader much about the mountain life and ways of living off the land., but most of all their dependency on the Lord.
What I really enjoyed the heroine Francine and her ability to adapt and come to love the area that God placed her.  With this, she earned the love and respect of the mountain people as she exerted herself to learn their ways, and to respect their beliefs.



 I received this book free from the Author and Revell/Baker Publishing Group.  I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Saturday, September 2, 2017

The Captain's Daughter


London 1879

Rosalynn Bernay finds herself in a quandary.  Running from her employment as a lady’s companion, falsely accused of stealing.  Instead of staying and facing her accusers, Rosalyn decides she has nowhere to run but to her sister Julia in Bristol.
As she is at the train station, she realizes that the train to London is the quickest way to escape.
When she arrives at the station in London, a handsome soldier tries to help her when she is met by an unscrupulous man who tries to get her to leave with him but along comes Mrs. Hurdle who offers a room and a meal and the young man is left doubting Rosalynn’s fate.  It isn’t long before Rosalynn realizes that Mrs. Hurdle’s is more than just a boarding house, and she flees into the night.

After a series of situations beyond her control leaves Rosalyn Bernay alone and penniless in London, she chances upon a job backstage at a theater putting on the most popular show in the city.   A talented musician and singer, she feels immediately at home and soon becomes enthralled with the idea of pursuing a career on the stage. That is, if the shadows from her past don't catch up with her.
After a hand injury forces Nate Moran from his army regiment in India, he returns home to London, a place that holds unpleasant memories. He agrees to fill in temporarily as a stagehand while his brother recuperates from a broken leg, but Nate is counting down the days until he can rejoin his regiment. His future is decided--until he meets a beautiful woman who has found a new lease on life in the very place Nate yearns to leave behind.
But then he meets the beautiful woman he met at the train station and the story recommences on from there. 
Rosalyn is a strong, intelligent, yet whimsical heroine worth cheering for.   An orphan raised by George Mueller, she has learned to rely upon god and I believe this is what gets her through her ordeals in the novel. 
This novel is truly based on scriptures and the main characters are firm believers, who give us a look into what happens when we truly put all our trust in the Lord our God.

I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.


Tuesday, August 22, 2017

Apologetics Study Bible For Students



As Christians, we will face times when we will face a time to defend and protect our faith.  young Christians are growing up in a time where these truths are being questioned by society.   This Bible will help them by equipping them in the truths of Scripture by training them with meaningful and hands on responses when the core issues of their faith and life are challenged.   
This Bible covers topics that our youth will come across every day, such as do Christians practice yoga?  Should we get tattoos?  Do Christianity and politics mix?  
Features Include: Presentation page, Book introductions, Study notes, Articles from popular youth leaders and apologists (including editor Sean McDowell), Sixty “Twisted Scripture” explanations for commonly misunderstood passages, Fifty “Bones & Dirt” entries (archaeology meets apologetics), Fifty “Notable Quotes," Twenty-five “Tactics” against common anti-Christian arguments, Twenty “Personal Stories” of how God has worked in real lives, Twenty “Top Five” lists to help remember key apologetics topics, Two-color design-intensive interior, Two-column text, 9.75-point type, Smyth-sewn binding, Ribbon marker, Full-color maps, and more.
 The CSB Apologetics Study Bible for Students features the text of the Christian Standard Bible (CSB), which is very easy to read and is as close to the Bible’s original meaning.

  This Bible certainly is for everyone, for those interested in apologetics, in youth ministry or teaching Sunday School, this is the Bible that  helps the teenage, college-age and young adult students in your life grasp Scripture in a way that relates to the cultural issues of the day so that they can impact the people around them.

I enjoyed this Bible very much, the font size is very easy to read, the articles were easy to find.  Not to mention the full-color maps.  It also includes black and white photos throughout.  With its attractive cover and design, this Bible is a winner.


I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

Wednesday, August 9, 2017

Never Unfriended



Have you ever felt betrayed or let down by a friend?  How about when someone “unfriends” you on Facebook?  Or maybe you just have a hard time making friends?

Author Lisa-Jo Baker takes us into a study of “friendship” and gets down to the “nitty gritty” of relationships, how to manage them and how to grow them.
Lisa- Jo examines all the reasons why relationships work, don’t work and why we may be afraid of them.

This book is for the hurt women, the women who wish they had sisters, women who are the why wasn’t I invited women.

Being in ministry, it helped me understand relationships better, I have seen the cliques, I have heard “We cannot invite them, it would show favoritism”.   I know what it feels like to be “unfriended”.
I also like that the author brings out that inter net has opened a whole bunch of new super highways of opportunities to covet our neighbor’s life with our social media we are able to look into our friends lives deeper and we know when we have been slighted, forgotten, not invited, or even unfriended.
I was also delighted that the author uses Biblical illustrations and verses to get her points across to the reader.
Have you ever felt betrayed or let down by a friend?  How about when someone “unfriends” you on Facebook?  Or maybe you just have a hard time making friends?

Author Lisa-Jo Baker takes us into a study of “friendship” and gets down to the “nitty gritty” of relationships, how to manage them and how to grow them.
Lisa- Jo examines all the reasons why relationships work, don’t work and why we may be afraid of them.

This book is for the hurt women, the women who wish they had sisters, women who are the why wasn’t I invited women.

Being in ministry, it helped me understand relationships better, I have seen the cliques, I have heard “We cannot invite them, it would show favoritism”.   I know what it feels like to be “unfriended”.
I also like that the author brings out that inter net has opened a whole bunch of new super highways of opportunities to covet our neighbor’s life with our social media we are able to look into our friends lives deeper and we know when we have been slighted, forgotten, not invited, or even unfriended.
I was also delighted that the author uses Biblical illustrations and verses to get her points across to the reader.



 I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.


Sunday, August 6, 2017

Fragile Hope



In this novel, we are introduced to Josiah Chamberlin, a well-known marital counselor who has written many books on the subject and his wife Karin, an artist with her own unique line of greeting cards; “Seedlings and Sentiments”.
Josiah is too involved with his own work that he tends to put his profession of  author, speaker and relationship expert over the importance of his marriage.    When we meet Karin, she is at her breaking point with Josiah and her marriage.   The night that she plans to leave her so-called marriage counselor husband, she ends up in a car wreck with her friend and business partner’s husband.

 When Josiah gets to the hospital he finds his wife with major brain injury and pregnant.   Josiah had been told that the possibility of him ever having children was extremely impossible.  So, with his wife in a coma and no one else to fill in the facts, Josiah feels betrayed.
As we continue in the story Josiah examines his own life, the fragility of hope, and learning the strength of love and faith.

This is an amazing book of faith, hope love, and courage.    From the first paragraph to the last, you can feel the hope of reconciliation, the hope of healing, the hope of acceptance, the hope of truth.   It is a book full of energy, one that the reader certainly does not want to put down.

I connected fully with the plot, I felt what all the characters were going through.   I have been in Karin’s place, having my self-gone through brain surgery.  I know how it feels for the family involved, the husband the parents.   I was so encouraged by the thoughts and sentiments that were at the beginning; of each chapter. Such as “Hope does not have an expiration date”. 
I believe that the reader will come away from reading this novel, the lessons of the delicateness and the strength of love; the constant need to nourish and grow our relationships and how important communication is in our lives, especially to those closest to us.

I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.





Saturday, August 5, 2017

A Day At The Beach



A devotional that centers around a beach or vacation theme.  This is perfect for those who  crave a day at the beach where your mind and soul can focus on God’s word and take you away from your day to day routine.   Do you long to hear his quiet voice?    A Day at the Beach will help you put the worries and thoughts of the world behind you and brothers Todd and Jedd will help you see that the God who built the universe also wants to help you build a great life. Let these inspiring words bring a ray of warm sunshine to your life  as Todd and Jedd offer their joy-filled viewpoints on life and faith help you, unplug from life’s daily grind, and follow the call of your heart to Jesus, the ultimate source of life

Small and compact so that you can take it anywhere; with a sturdy bright and waterproof cover. 


These devotions are packed full of insightful illustrations that make God’s word come alive.  Anyone can relate to them easily and apply them to their own lives.



I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

Friday, July 21, 2017

The Captivating Lady Charlotte



The 2nd book in the series Regency Brides, we find ourselves looking into the life of Lady Charlotte Featherington.      As a brand new debutante and as the beautiful daughter of a marquess, she is destined for great things on the marriage market.  She should have her pick of the eligible nobility when she debuts.  Having love at the top of her list of marriageable attributes;   her romantic heart falls hard for one particularly dashing, attentive suitor.   Her father intends her betrothed to be someone that she thinks is dull, and is less handsome.

William Hartwell may be a duke, but he knows he was Charlotte's father's pick, not the young lady's own choice. And the captivating Lady Charlotte does not strike him as a woman who will be wooed by his wealth or title. While she has captured his heart, he has no idea how to win hers in return--and the betrayal and scandal his first wife put him through makes it difficult for him to believe that love can ever be trusted. His only hope is that Charlotte's sense of responsibility will win out over her romantic notions.

Can a widowed duke and a romantically inclined lady negotiate a future and discover love beyond duty? Will they be able to find healing and hope from the legacy of grace?   Will Charlotte learn the true meaning of love?


This is a wonderful story for those who love historical fiction, full of mystery and romance.   

I enjoyed this book so much.  the author ties in the characters from book one very well, and even those who have not read book one will be able to catch up and follow along with no problem. 

Well written and easy to read, this makes a great read.




I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

Saturday, May 20, 2017

Sacred Privilage

Drawing on more than forty years in ministry, Kay provides encouraging principles and life lessons, along with intimate personal stories, that will give you the confidence you need to lead and live well. You'll learn to

- accept who you are
- adapt to change
- help your children survive and thrive
- protect your private life
- deal with criticism
- live with integrity
- develop an eternal perspective

Whether you are excited, struggling, or feeling broken and tired, you will find hope and encouragement for your calling in Kay's warm and wise words.


Kay Warren has put together from her immense experience of 40 years  as a pastor’s wife.   

Every pastor’s wife will enjoy reading this book that Mrs. Warren has compiled and put her lifetime of experiences for all of us pastor’s wives to read.

I myself enjoyed this and I was able to get so much out of this book.   I know that Mrs. Warren is the pastor’s wife of a very large church, but even if you are in the smallest of churches you can still use and apply a lot of the experience from Mrs. Warren.

When I first started reading the book, it seemed more like a biography, but as you read through her life and experience, you can learn so much that you can use in your own life and ministry. 
I have read many books for and written by pastor’s wives and I have enjoyed and uses many of them.   This is a great new book that many will like to read.

All in all, I would give this book a 3-star rating.

I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.




Saturday, May 13, 2017

Transformed



From the publisher:

How do we address, deal with, and encounter hardship? How do we embrace the kingdom message involving redemption and restoration, but also help people feel safe to be honest? How do we remove the stigma surrounding broken areas--areas where people aren't healed--and address suffering?

Transformed takes Romans 12:1-8 as its central text and each chapter begins with a verse. The theme of the book is change. True change doesn't come about from a quick fix, which in charismatic circles is generally through the laying on of hands; it takes sacrifice, sweat, and suffering. This is the key to morality, integrity, and longevity in the Christian faith.

Ms. Wimber has a good message to give to the readers.   Se outlines clearly why we need a relationship with Christ.  As we try to walk with Him, we are transformed each and every day.   This would be a good book to read for those who are interested in a deeper walk with Christ.  The book does make you think about your own walk with Christ and how to have a deeper relationship with Him.

My concerns:  I think the book is well written, but I am very concerned about women pastors.   This pastor is from a liberal church, and my suggestion is to read it with those thoughts in mind.

I give this book a rating of 3 stars

I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.


Tuesday, May 2, 2017

Too Deep For Words


This is the sequel to A Thousand Shall Fall we find 
Carrie Ann Collier has been a newlywed for nineteen blissful days--as happy as life can be in the midst of war, that is. Soon that war will take a tur she never expected. When her new husband, Peyton, goes missing during battle, she refuses to believe he is dead and must find a way to move forward with everyday life in the face of fear.
As Carrie struggles with how to welcome her estranged sister, Margaret, back into her life, another new arrival appears on her doorstep--her husband’s best friend, and rebel officer, Eli. Wounded and bitter, Eli is nonetheless committed to keeping his promise to Peyton: take care of the Collier women, no matter what. But to Carrie, he’s a painful reminder of her lost love.
Then unexpected news makes Carrie wonder if miracles do happen. If Carrie i worms her way into the enemy once again, she might find out what really happened to the love of her life. Will Eli be able to keep his promise to keep her safe? Can they forgive each other if promises are broken?
Once again, we are given a well-researched novel that will thrill those who love Christian historical novels.  
This novel will keep you on pins and needles, a book that is hard to put down and very easy to read.   

The author has a way of bringing the reader into the story and living life with the characters.  It will remind you to never give up, to always keep your faith in God.

I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.





Saturday, April 29, 2017

The Women's Study Bible NKJV



This is an amazing Bible.   I have to say it is myFavorite Bible.   Ms. Patterson and her team has done an excellent job of putting this Bible together.   It is theologically and doctrinal sound.   I love the Holman translation, it is easy and clear to read.   The print size is excellent.   I have recently gone through a major brain operation, and this review copy was sitting waiting for me the day after I woke up!  I am able to read and follow the text clearly.

Ms. Patterson is a wonderful woman, I have heard her speak and I truly do recommend this Bible for any age woman. 

 The Study Bible for Women equips you to reach deep into God’s Word. Perhaps the single most powerful aspect of this Bible are the "threads" of specialized study thoughtfully woven throughout, pointing you to God’s larger story and allowing the Holy Spirit to write His revealed truths on your heart.

Features Include:

Beautiful full-color design throughout Detailed biographical portraits of over 100 biblical women Thousands of extensive verse-by-verse study notes Over 300 in-text topical articles on relevant issues Insightful essays by women who are recognized experts in the fields of theology, biblical studies, archaeology, and philosophy Book introductions and outlines Hundreds of full-color in-text maps, charts, timelines, and family trees Quotes from godly women throughout history Set of full-page maps of the biblical world Topical index Concordance .
This wonderful Bible just had a huge update.  The lovely and beautiful new hardcover is amazing to look at and sturdy to take anywhere.  Inside you find full-color pages.  I love these Bibles!
I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.



Saturday, April 15, 2017

Messy Beautiful Friendship





From the Publisher (Baker Books)

We long for deep and lasting friendships, but they can be challenging to make--and keep. Our expectations of ourselves and our friends can often leave us feeling insecure and isolated. With engaging true stories and guidance drawn from Scripture, Christine Hoover offers a fresh, biblical vision for friendship that allows for the messiness of our lives and the realities of our schedules. She shows you:

- what's holding you back from developing satisfying friendships
- how to make and deepen friendships 
- how to overcome insecurity, self-imposed isolation, and past hurts
- how to embrace the people God has already placed in your life as potential friends
- how to revel in the beauty and joy of everyday friendship


Christine Hoover has done an amazing job helping women develop, maintain, and renew broken relationships.  What really jumped out to me was how she related friendships to a fire.  A fire can be cozy, warm and comforting; or it can burn and hurt us.

How many of us have been in a hurtful friendship?  How many of us are shy introverts who are just afraid to take that first step?

In this book, Christine covers all that and more.  The book is well written, easy to follow and really makes you think.

In the back of the book are some questions that would make this book excellent for a women's group study.  Also, there  are some lessons on friendship and some Bible verses on friendship.

I really enjoyed this book, it was easy to get into, the only thing I would change is the font size.  It was just a little too small for my eyes (with bifocals and readers) to read.


I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.












Thursday, April 13, 2017

The Women of Easter



Once again, Liz Curtis Higgs, brings us closer and into the lives of the women of Easter, otherwise known as the three Mary's.   Mary of Bethany, Mary of Nazareth and Mary Magdalene.

This book was originally written as an online Bible study during the Lenten season and now we  have a copy we can go back to time and time again, to learn more about these amazing women and what Easter really means.   Ms. Higgs teaching once again excels as she combines all four of the gospels and walks us through those final days through the eyes of the Mary's.

This book will take you closer to the cross and as you read, you will find your faith will deepen.

It is an enjoyable and informative book as we walk in the lives of the three Mary's.  This book is highly recommended.  It can be used in a group setting or for personal reading.  


I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.


Wednesday, April 12, 2017

Praying The Psalms Drawing Near to the Heart of God




We all know that prayer is one of the most powerful weapons we have.  We all have tried at one time or another to pour our hearts and deepest feelings to God, but sometimes we feel we don't have the words to tell Him?

This book will help you dig deep into the pages of the Psalms and connect with God.   This is a lovely devotional style book that is perfect for anyone, male or female.

With the attractive, durable cover anyone would be delighted with this book.  Small enough to carry it anywhere, but  so easy to read.




I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.


CSB Ultra Thin Reference Bible



The CSB Ultrathin Reference Bible features the highly reliable, highly readable text of the Christian Standard Bible (CSB), which stays as literal as possible to the Bible’s original meaning without sacrificing clarity. The CSB’s optimal blend of accuracy and readability makes Scripture more moving, more memorable, and more motivating to read and share with others.
Features include: Smyth-sewn binding, Presentation page, Two-column text, Center-column cross references, Topical subheadings, Words of Christ in red, 8.5-point type, Concordance, Full-color maps, and more.
The CSB Ultrathin Reference Bible is easy-to-carry and easy-to-read, featuring a robust center-column, cross-reference system, 8.5-point type, and an ultrathin design which slips easily into a purse, briefcase, or backpack. As America’s oldest Bible Publisher, Holman is a pioneer in the development of Ultrathin Bibles, giving careful attention to breakthroughs in typography and paper manufacturing to produce a Bible that combines readability, portability, and durability.

This Bible has it all, it is compact and easy to carry.  At first, I thought being ultra thin the type would be too small to read, but it's not.  

I also enjoy the center column with the cross-references; not only is it good to have them there to refer to, but it also gives me some note taking space.

The attractive sturdy leather touch cover will stand up to much reading and will last a long time.   The pages are of good quality and the maps and concordance are perfect.



 I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

Tuesday, April 11, 2017

A Trail of Crumbs



Pearl Spence has been through more in her lifetime than most people will ever experience.  In this sequel to "Cup of Dust" , we return to Red River Oklahoma to the Spence family.     The story begins with yet another dust storm, which takes the life of "Bennie", Pearl's older mentally challenged sister.   Pearl ends up in the hospital with dust pneumonia and the family is forced into a decision to move to Michigan to start life over and Pearl can heal.

This story and writer really makes the reader understand what life was like during the "dust bowl" and what the families had to endure.   This is the story of family struggles, love and trusting in God.

This book is another good read from an author that takes you right into the story line and lets you identify with the characters.


I received this book free from the publisher. http://www.kregel.com I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”


Tuesday, April 4, 2017

The Elusive Miss Ellison



The handsome new Earl of Hawkesbury has arrived and has the whole village aflutter, but t hat's the firm opinion of not-so-meek minister's daughter Lavinia Ellison. So even though all the other villagers of St. Hampton Heath are swooning over the newly returned seventh Earl of Hawkesbury, she is not impressed. If a man won't take his responsibilities seriously and help those who are supposed to be able to depend on him, he deserves no respect from her. In Lavinia's pretty, gray eyes, Nicholas Stamford is just as arrogant and reckless as his brother--who stole the most important person in Livvie's world.

Nicholas is weighed down by his own guilt and responsibility, by the pain his careless brother caused, and by the legacy of war he's just left. This quick visit home to St. Hampton Heath will be just long enough to ease a small part of that burden. Asking him to bother with the lives of the villagers when there's already a bailiff on the job is simply too much to expect.

That is, until the  clever, witty  and very outspoken Miss Ellison challenges him to see past his pain and pride. With her angelic voice in his head, he may even be beginning to care. But his isn't the only heart that needs to change.


These two lonely hearts may each have something the other needs. But with society's opposition, ancestral obligations, and a shocking family secret, there may be too many obstacles in their way.

A novel for those who enjoy literature of Jane Austen, and historical novels.   This is a fun, witty, yet serious novel.

The author keeps the reader entertained and looking for more.   The story plot was very interesting and had the reader glued to the book.

 I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

Thursday, March 30, 2017

Lighthouse Faith





We live in a world of hurting, one that sees violence in the news almost every day and this is a book that helps people look to the light, the one true light that will help give us our joy, comfort and relieve our fears.

Lighthouse Faith: God as a Living Reality in a World Immersed in Fog by Lauren Green published by W Publishing an imprint of Thomas Nelson. Green is a household name, known for her hard-hitting journalism for Fox News as well as her committed truthfulness.

This book is Green’s  journey of faith as she travels  seeing the proof of God’s creation   that takes evidence  in ways and in places she did not expect.


The book is a composition  of thoughts and reflections on life and spirituality that hopefully will encourage those who may be struggling with their faith, those who question where God is in this world right now.  

This book is a wonderful evangelistic tool,  I  was enthusiastic  to read this book, as I  love lighthouses, knowing that they not only represent keeping people safe in a worldly sense, but God is our light and our strong tower.  
I truly think that Ms. Green did a good job with explaining who God is and what He can do for us in this world of fog.


I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.


Thursday, March 2, 2017

The Daniel Code



From The back of the book:

We live in dangerous times. Not only does violence stalk us in the form of terrorism and crime, but our culture itself is crumbling. Our society tolerates and even praises what would once have been barely spoken of. If we stand up we are branded as intolerant, the term today’s culture considers the inexcusable offense.  If we don’t speak up, people won’t know biblical truth.  How is a Christian to respond?

Inspired by the story of Daniel in the Old Testament, bestselling author O.S. Hawkins shows how we can engage our broken culture with integrity. Daniel was a young man who “wrote the book” on how to survive in a pagan, permissive, and perverse culture.  His value system was challenged at every turn.

Daniel steps off the pages of scripture and into our modern culture today to reveal some timeless principles—a sort of “Daniel Code”—that enable you to not simply exist in our culture but to engage it and survive it as well. You will discover that the same God that ensured Daniel’s victories is here for you .


Many of us can find the book of Daniel confusing, or unable to relate it to our lives.   Author O.S. Hawkins, a very fine writer has done an excellent job in clarifying the book of Daniel for us.    

I can appreciate the way he relates Daniel to our lives today, living under pressure for our faith, living amongst those who don't believe the way we do.. and so on.  

I think one of my favorite ones is  lessons from then.. for now, it explains how we can benefit from what Daniel had to experience.

This book is for everyone.   It is for those who want to learn more about the Bible, for teachers of the Bible and for those looking at how the Bible relates to our lives today.



I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.