Sunday, June 9, 2019

Restored


About the Book



Book: Restored  
Author: Tanya Eavenson  
Genre: Contemporary Christian Romance  
Release date: February 10, 2016

Sometimes love arrives when you least expect it. Dr. Steven Moore is known nationally for saving lives. If only he could save his own. Unable to deal with his prognosis, he retreats to a happier time in his past—to the woman who once stole his heart. Four years after the death of her beloved husband, bookstore owner Elizabeth Roberts still struggles to sustain her faith and joy in the Lord as she raises her two sons. She strives to find a way through her family’s grief, never suspecting a man from her past might offer hope for her future. But how can there be a future when he’s only come to kiss her and say good-bye?

My ThoughtsTanya Eavenson has written a heartwarming story with struggles that we face today. The author does a fabulous work of developing each character; the characters become real to the reader and the reader becomes sensitive to them and lost in the flurry of ups and downs of events that occur in the storyline.  

I truly enjoyed the reference to one of my favorite books in the Bible: Ruth; and how the author made reference to Steven being Elizabeth's Boaz.  Her kinsman redeemer.  That was one of the most touching parts of the story for myself.  This is such a wonderful romance that readers will certainly enjoy.  Although it is the second book in the series"Unending Love" it is a stand-alone read.    Readers will certainly identify with any one of the characters that are in the novel.    I will certainly be looking forward to more from Tanya Eavenson.


⭐⭐⭐⭐

Click here to purchase your copy.

About the Author



Tanya Eavenson is an international bestselling and award-winning inspirational romance author. She enjoys spending time with her husband and their three children. Her favorite pastime is grabbing a cup of coffee, eating chocolate, and reading a good book. You can find her at her website http://www.tanyaeavenson.com/ on Facebook, Twitter, Goodreads, Google, or on Amazon.

More from Tanya

RESTORED is the second book in the Unending Love series. It’s a story I wanted to write, one I knew I could write, but still, it took six years to write. Not that it was difficult, but something was missing. A friend and I attended the Blue Ridge Mountains Christian Writers Conference, and during the conference, we discussed RESTORED. We came up with different plots, but nothing felt right. I decided then to take a hiatus from contemporary romance and to begin writing another genre I’ve always loved, historical romance. While doing research and working on my historical romance novel, doctors discovered I had cancer. There are many times in a person’s life where he or she may reach an obstacle. It may be an illness, an accident, a difficult decision that must be made, or any number of other things. I’d reached that point in my life. It was a defining moment, not only dealing with my cancer prognosis, but asking the Lord if He truly called me to write as I thought, or was I mistaken. I stuffed my historical romance novel away and almost gave up on God’s call to write. But through the fears and searching for God’s direction, I learned He did indeed place this desire to write on my heart and no matter what I was facing in my life, it didn’t diminish His call. I’m inspired by the Lord to write inspirational Christian fiction so people may know the love of Christ. To know the depth He will go to have a relationship with us. And though we struggle, He uses us—ordinary people like me—to do out of the ordinary things. Unexpected things—like writing. This propelled me to write RESTORED. I began pouring into RESTORED the knowledge I’d gained through my own experiences and that of my stepfather and father-in-law, who were both diagnosed with melanoma. I know now that if I had written this story any earlier in my career, I wouldn’t be on such a personal level with my characters nor could I have written it from the heart. I love this story. I love my characters, Steven and Elizabeth. RESTORED is about lost love being given a second chance when you least expect it. A story of how nothing is impossible with God.

Blog Stops

Giveaway



To celebrate her tour, Tanya is giving away a grand prize of a $5 Amazon gift card and a pillow cover from  RedBubble!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!


 I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am  disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Wednesday, June 5, 2019

Harbor Secrets Promo Blast



About The Book:
A Peaceful Coastal Town...Threatened by a Storm of Secrets
It's 1916 when newspaper woman Anna McDowell learns her estranged father has suffered a
stroke. Deciding it's time to repair
bridges, Anna packs up her precocious adolescent daughter
and heads for her hometown in Sunset Cove, Oregon.
Although much has changed since the turn of the century, some things haven’t. Anna finds the
the staff of her father’s paper not exactly eager to welcome a woman into the editor-in-chief role, but
her father insists he wants her at the helm. Anna is quickly pulled into the charming town and
her
new position... but just as quickly learns this seaside getaway harbors some dark and dangerous
secrets.
With Oregon’s new statewide prohibition in effect, crime has crept along the seacoast and
invaded even idyllic Sunset Cove. Anna only meant to get to know her father again over the
summer, but instead she finds herself rooting out the biggest story the town has ever seen
And trying to keep her daughter safe from it all.

My Thoughts:  This well-written story takes us to the seashore in Oregon during the prohibition period. Anna returns home to visit her estranged father to make amends for a disagreement that happened years ago.  During this visit home, she discovers that something just isn't quite right around town.  Using her investigative news reporting skills she intends to find out.   

This is a wonderful summertime read!  It's always nice to read about the ocean and beaches in the summer, and this one is perfect.   It's full of mystery and suspense; it doesn't focus on romance.  This is a book about forgiveness, healing relationships and starting over.   I enjoyed Melody Carlson's writing and how she developed her characters.  It was a very enjoyable read.

⭐⭐⭐⭐






About Melody Carlson



Melody Carlson has written more than 200 books (with sales around 6.5 million) for teens, women, and children. That’s a lot of books, but mostly she considers herself a “storyteller.” Her young adult novels (Diary of a Teenage Girl, True Colorsetc.) appeal to teenage girls around the world. Her annual Christmas novellas become more popular each year. She’s won a number of awards (including RT’s Career Achievement Award, the Rita, and the Gold medallion) and some of her books have been optioned for film/TV. Carlson has two grown sons and makes her home in the Pacific Northwest with her husband and yellow Lab dog.

Author's Social Media




 I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am  disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”








Monday, June 3, 2019

Painter Place promo Blast





Back Cover Copy 
In June of 1985, Caroline Painter's uncle whisks her away from her island home at Painter Place to film an art video in the harbor village of Mevagissey. But instead of clearing her head, the young artist becomes entangled in adventure on the English Channel when she influences a rock star's contract and the media launches her into fame. When she returns home, she discovers a shattering secret that makes her question everything in her life. Can she trust the only one who says he understands?

My Thoughts: This is a wonderful story of a close-knit family. Living in an idyllic southern island setting.    This is a story that is about trust, honesty, and purity.  It's about our Christian character.  

Caroline Painter is a talented young woman whose family has lived on the island since her relatives left England in the early 1600's.    In the author's debut novel, she has given the reader an excellent reading experience.  The story-line is full of wonderful characters that the reader will love, she brings the readers into the story with wonderful characters and lots of emotion.   This is certainly a fairy tale story; with fast expensive cars and gifts, but one that the readers will love.    

I appreciated when Caroline gave her testimony for Christ in the story which led others to Christ.  The painter family has strong beliefs that they stand for, and value the rich family character.

I enjoyed this book, and look forward to reading the next books in the series!

⭐⭐⭐⭐




Author Bio 
Pamela Poole's love for the South inspires all her books and paintings. She has written three novels and two short stories that take place on the fictional island in the Painter Place Saga, and she will launch the fourth book in 2019. Pamela is a member of American Christian Fiction Writers and various author and artist organizations. She and her husband Mark live in Raleigh, North Carolina.





Author Social Media:
Pamela Poole, Artist and Author, Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/PamelaPooleArt 

Pamela Poole, Artist and Author, Twitter: https://twitter.com/PamelaPooleArt 

Pamela P. Poole, Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/pamelapooleart  Author blog on Southern Sky Publishing: https://www.southernskypublishing.com/blog 

 I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am  disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”



Tuesday, May 28, 2019

If God is For Us: The Everlasting Truth of our Great Salvation

About the Book: 

What would change if you really understood all that God has done and is doing for you?

Sure we know in our head that God is for us, that there's great hope in his relationship with us and salvation for us, but sometimes these truths can be hard to believe in the midst of exhaustion, busyness, and a world of spiritual and physical opposition. If God Is For Us is a devotional Bible Study on Romans 8 designed to cement in your soul the great truths of our salvation and an understanding for how the Holy Spirit guides our new life in the Spirit, all found in this beloved chapter of Scripture.

Why just the one chapter? The simple answer: there's so much there! It's no wonder that so many Christians list Romans among their favorite books of the Bible and Romans 8 as their favorite in the book. Romans is packed with profound truth after profound truth which are then followed up with life-changing promise after life-changing promise. In this 6-week study, Trillia Newbell will walk you through Romans 8 and help you cement deep inside yourself the scandalous truths of our great salvation, our inheritance, the assurance of our faith, and ultimately the love of our good Father.

Each week will include:

5 daily readings out of Romans
A devotional for each daily reading
Questions for reflection and study
If you've experienced the comfort of Romans 8 before, but want to plant it more deeply in your person this is the Bible Study for you. And it's great for individual or group settings.

My Thoughts:  This is a wonderful study of chapter 8 of Romans.   It is thorough but this study is the combination of a study and a devotional.   There are your daily or weekly read "prompts" to help you get into the word; with suggestions on how to enrich your reading.  There are questions for the reader to respond to help the reader understand what has been read.  There are five days of devotionals to explore and support the reader's thinking about the study reading and how to apply it to their life.

All in all, this is a wonderful study for those looking for a good Bible Study.

 I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am  disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”




Core 52: A Fifteen-Minute Daily Guide to Build Your Bible IQ in a Year


This is a Bible for study for those who really want to dig into the Word.  For those who are willing to devote fifteen minutes a day, will be able to master the 52 most important verses in the Bible in only a year.   Although there are many reading plans it helps to have one that actually helps you understand the words that you are reading.  This is what Core 52 is all about.

Mark Moore coaches you through 52 of the Bible's most important verses. These are the "core" of the Bible. Each verse clears the path to master and manage dozens of other verses that run along the same principle path. At the end of this journey, you will move from curiosity about the Bible to competence in the Bible. It is the quickest onramp to understanding the whole of God's Word.
t
My Thoughts:   If you are looking for a Bible Study this is a good study to look into.   
Each verse you study opens the path to master and guide you through many of other verses that run along the same path of verses with the same principles. At the end of this study, you will feel more comfortable in your study of the Bible.    It will make your Bible reading more interesting and easier to follow. You will find yourself reading more and doing more independent study of the Bible.   In this easy to follow the guide, the daily lesson includes an essay about a theme found in the Bible, verses to memorize, scripture to read, an "overachiever challenge,” along with a book suggestion that goes with the theme for the week. Some of the topics were prayer, grace, creation, prophecy, the Holy Spirit, heaven, among many others.

Watch the video to find out more:

Core 52 Introduction Video



About the Author: MARK E. MOORE is a teaching pastor at Christ's Church of the Valley in Phoenix, AZ, one of the fastest growing and most dynamic churches in America. Here he leverages two decades in a college classroom teaching New Testament. His goal is to make Scriptures accessible and relevant to people trying to make sense of Christianity. His two worlds of academic Bible study and practical Christian living come together in this powerful new tool called Core 52. 

 I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am  disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”


Sunday, May 26, 2019

The Inn at Hidden Run


About the Book



A Father-Daughter Genealogy Team Link Present to Past on Family Tree
 
Meri flunks out of medical school—and runs from her parents. Genealogist Jillian Parisi-Duffy’s digging traces the family long tradition of doctors to an ancestor saved during a yellow fever outbreak in Memphis in 1878. As Meri’s family closes in, Jillian gets the final puzzle pieces in place just in time for them all to learn the truth.  The Inn at Hidden Run is the first book in the Tree of Life series. Readers will come back to the backdrop of a lovely mountain town of Canyon Mines, again and again, to explore and celebrate unforgettable family stories that inspire them to connect with their own family histories and unique faith journeys.

My Thoughts:   This is a dual timeline novel that connects the past to the present through a family tree.  A unique story using genealogy as a focus to bring the characters together in a fascinating storyline.   In this book, we find Jillian and her dad, Nolan who try to mediate Meri's family to bring about Meri's dreams of helping children.  

The dual timeline introduces us to some history of Memphis Tennesee, back in the 1800's during the yellow fever outbreak.   The author  Olivia Newport does an excellent job of educating us what it was like for the people of Memphis at that time.  
This is a story about trusting God to follow our dreams or our calling.  Sometimes we may not know what fuels those callings, but sometimes it may be in our DNA.  I have to be honest, it did bother me that Meri's family expected if not insisted that she be a doctor, just because that's what the family did.  They did not stop to think about what her calling in life may have been.    

This is a wonderful story for those that enjoy genealogy, or it may spark an interest in it.  This is a book that will draw the reader's interest.  I truly enjoyed this book and look forward to reading more in this series.

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Click here to purchase your copy!

About the Author



Olivia Newport’s novels twist through time to find where faith and passions meet. Her husband and twentysomething children provide welcome distraction from the people stomping through her head on their way into her books. She chases joy in stunning Colorado at the foot of the Rockies, where daylilies grow as tall as she is.

More from Olivia

Of Family Lines and Family Lore I suppose it all started in a cemetery. Once, while a group of relatives were visiting a cemetery, one of my cousins and I wandered off and looked at all sorts of graves, speculating about the names we read and the lives they represented. We were duly scolded both for separating from our families, which caused some consternation, and for being disrespectful—though I think the second accusation was a false one! Just because we were young children didn’t mean we were disrespecting the dead. Quite the opposite. We were respecting lives long forgotten with our curiosity about who they were and what legacies they left. These days a lot of people are interested in genealogy. Entire TV series spin around the theme, and DNA kits show up in Christmas stockings. Lost branches of family trees find the main trunk—sometimes with big surprises. My new Tree of Life series is set in the backdrop of a lovely Colorado mountain town I hope you’ll want to visit often, where a father-daughter genealogy team link present to past on family trees and characters learn about who they are, where they come from, and their unique faith journeys as they discover their own Tree of Life. It all starts with The Inn at Hidden Run. When Meri arrives in Canyon Mines because she wants to run away from her family, true answers come from understanding the past that generations have forgotten—the accounts from another time and place no longer handed down but that still form the backbone of the family’s story. What’s the backbone of your family’s history? How is it shaping your own future?

Blog Stops

Hallie Reads, May 22
Bigreadersite, May 23
By The Book, May 23
Mary Hake, May 28
Quiet Quilter, May 29
Remembrancy, May 30
Moments, May 31

Giveaway


 
To celebrate her tour, Olivia is giving away a grand prize of a $25 Amazon gift card and a copy of The Inn at Hidden Run!!
Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!



 I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am  disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Friday, May 24, 2019

On a Summer Tide


About the Book



Book: On a Summer Tide
Author: Suzanne Woods Fisher  
Genre: Christian Fiction Romance  
Release Date: April 30, 2019

Sometimes love hurts—and sometimes it can heal in the most unexpected way. Camden Grayson loves her challenging career, but the rest of her life could use some improvement. “Moving on” is Cam’s mantra. But there’s a difference, her two sisters insist, between one who moves on . . . and one who keeps moving. Cam’s full-throttle life skids to a stop when her father buys a remote island off the coast of Maine. Paul Grayson has a dream to breathe new life into the island—a dream that includes reuniting his estranged daughters. Certain Dad has lost his mind, the three sisters rush to the island. To Cam’s surprise, the slow pace of island life appeals to her, along with the locals—and one in particular. Seth Walker, the scruffy island schoolteacher harbors more than a few surprises. With On a Summer Tide, bestselling author Suzanne Woods Fisher begins a brand-new contemporary romance series that is sure to delight her fans and draw new ones.

My Thoughts: This is a wonderful story about how family roles and events mold a person and their life.  Welcome to a story that brings a family back together again, where they begin to see each other for who they are and what their abilities or gifting is; how they learn to work together and learn to love one another again.  It is also a story about learning to forgive, that people do grow as they live their life; that people do learn from their mistakes.  It is a story about being honest with one another.

Suzanne Woods Fisher will does not disappoint in this novel.  Once again she has spun a wonderful true to life tale.  Living on a small island is quaint.  I know, I come from a small island in the middle of the Chesapeake Bay; Smith Island.  This novel reminds me so much of where I come from, no police, a small school, etc. and a small population.   The author has spun a tale that makes the reader want to come to visit this place and take home some of the distinctiveness it gives the residents and visitors.   


Readers will enjoy this new series, I certainly look forward to more from Suzanne Woods Fisher!

⭐⭐⭐⭐

Click here to purchase your copy.  

About the Author

  

Suzanne Woods Fisher is an award-winning, bestselling author of more than thirty books, including Mending Fences, as well as the Nantucket Legacy, Amish Beginnings, The Bishop’s Family, and The Inn at Eagle Hill series, among other novels. She is also the author of several nonfiction books about the Amish, including Amish Peace and The Heart of the Amish. She lives in California. Learn more at www.suzannewoodsfisher.com and follow Suzanne on Facebook @SuzanneWoodsFisherAuthor and Twitter @suzannewfisher.  

More from Suzanne



Oh-So-Maine Blueberry Buckle    

Summer in Maine means plump, tart blueberries are everywhere. Here’s a family recipe that is nearly fool-proof….and so delicious! Especially with a scoop or two with vanilla ice cream.   Ever wonder how it got the name Blueberry Buckle?




While the batter rises as it bakes, but the blueberries and crumb topping weigh it down. This causes the surface of the cake to buckle…hence the name.  



Batter:
¾ cup sugar
¼ cup soft butter
1 egg
½ cup milk
2 cups sifted flour
½ teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons baking powder
2 cups drained blueberries

Crumb Topping:
½ cup sugar
½ cup flour
½ teaspoon cinnamon
¼ cup softened butter



Preheat oven to 375 degrees.   Mix sugar and butter with egg. Stir in milk Sift together and stir in flour, baking powder and salt. Carefully blend in blueberries. Put on topping before baking. Pour in a greased and floured 9” square pan.   Bake 45-50 minutes.

  

Blog Stops



Carpe Diem, May 24
Mary Hake, May 25
C Jane Read, May 26
Empower Moms, May 27
Remembrancy, May 27
Hallie Reads, May 29
Quiet Quilter, June 3
By The Book, June 3



Giveaway



To celebrate her tour, Suzanne is giving away a grand prize of a $50 Amazon gift card!!
Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway!


 I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own. I am  disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”